Switch Theme:

Rear and flank charges/stand and shoot  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight





South Jersey

I'm confused here.  Mind you, I just started playing again, but this came up in the last game I played...

If a unit is charged from the flank or rear, is the unit aligned to meet the chargers fully?  Are the chargers moved to face the unit they charged completely?  The only example in the book is from a flank charge I think, and the units therein are placed front to front.  Who gets to stand and shoot in flank or rear charges?

y'know what, I'll just describe the problem....


Here's what happened:

A block of goblin spearmen charged my thunderers, lined up in two ranks of five, from the side, pretty much straight on.. 

So...  first question...   How many of the dwarfs get to fire at the goblins if they elect to Stand and Shoot?  Just the two facing ?  The whole unit?

This leads us to question two...

Are the goblins placed head on with the thunderers, or do they move.  I'll try to illustrate.

X = dwarf
O = Gobbo

goblins charge

(front)              OOOO
XXXXX       <-  OOOO
XXXXX      <-   OOOO           
                         OOOO

Does this result in:


(front)  OOOO
XXXXXOOOO
XXXXXOOOO
            OOOO

or

OOOO
OOOO
OOOO
OOOO
XXXXX
XXXXX

or even
XXOOOO
XXOOOO
XXOOOO
XXOOOO
XXOOOO


Thanks guys.

'Ere We Go!! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Charge reactions occur before chargers are moved, and if some of the chargers are in the front, but the majority are in the flank, you could fire at the chargers. See p.20, diagram 20.2- the rightmost unit of spearmen has 4 models in the front and 6 models in the flank, they will hit flank. However, the goblins could shoot at them, and you would have to check each goblin individually to see if he has LOS. I would guess that 2, maybe 3 goblins could shoot.

The situation you describe sounds more like the left side of diagram 20.2, where the charge started outside your unit's LOS. In that case you would not get to stand & shoot at all, because you have no target.

Skirmishers, of course, have totally different rules.


And formed chargers always align on (square up to) the formed chargees. So you would get something resembling #1, above.  See p.22, diagram 22.1, 'aligning the chargers'.
GGGG (front)
GGGGDDDDD   where all four goblins get to attack, but only two dwarfs can hit back- assuming they survive.
GGGGDDDDD
GGGG (rear)

Again, skirmishers have totally different rules.


He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: