| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/13 12:51:18
Subject: Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)
The Great State of Texas
|
Stupid question of the week. Played a game recently against a SW army with ven dread (strangely had two games in two weeks-more than I've played against wolves in V3 and V4). Ven dread can re-roll the roll to see who has the first move, or at least that was my interpretation. However, a counter interpretation was that the ven dread forced a re-roll by both players. As I don't have the codex since V4 whats the skinny incase this comes up again in the future.
|
-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/13 14:26:01
Subject: Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"If a Space Wolves army includes one then it may re-roll the dice if the mission being played has a dice roll to see who gets the first turn."
Seems pretty clear "it" definitely refers to the Dreadnought and therefore the Space Wolf player.
Of course the other big issue that comes up is if the re-roll creates a tie and both players have to roll again can the Space Wolf player then use the re-roll again?
I say it is a clear 'no' but many people think it is a yes.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/13 14:32:15
Subject: Re:Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Does it say "dice" or "die"? I don't have the codex myself, but if it says "dice", I don't see how you can reroll just your one die and claim that you've obeyed the rule.
|
Wehrkind wrote:Sounds like a lot, but with a little practice I can do ~7-8 girls in 2-3 hours. Probably less if the cat and wife didn't want attention in that time. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/13 14:44:28
Subject: Re:Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
tegeus-Cromis wrote:Does it say "dice" or "die"? I don't have the codex myself, but if it says "dice", I don't see how you can reroll just your one die and claim that you've obeyed the rule.
Because GW regularly uses the term "dice" to describe a single die? The above quote is a quote.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/13 14:55:46
Subject: Re:Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)
The Great State of Texas
|
tegeus-Cromis wrote:Does it say "dice" or "die"? I don't have the codex myself, but if it says "dice", I don't see how you can reroll just your one die and claim that you've obeyed the rule.
That was actually the argument used (it says dice). Typically we won't argue a point for long but will follow up after the game and I wanted to see what the consensus was.
|
-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/13 14:56:42
Subject: Re:Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Crap, you're right. They even talk about "a standard six-sided dice" in the intro. Sorry, my bad.
|
Wehrkind wrote:Sounds like a lot, but with a little practice I can do ~7-8 girls in 2-3 hours. Probably less if the cat and wife didn't want attention in that time. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/15 03:46:23
Subject: Re:Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
GW may misuse dice to mean one die, but if you want to play RAW {i.e., only words, not intent) then "dice" is plural and both dice must be rerolled, not just the die thrown by the SW player. On the other hand, if you want to use RAI, . . . .
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/15 05:53:51
Subject: Re:Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
JCarter wrote:GW may misuse dice to mean one die, but if you want to play RAW {i.e., only words, not intent) then "dice" is plural and both dice must be rerolled, not just the die thrown by the SW player. On the other hand, if you want to use RAI, . . . .
Incorrect. By the RAW "it" (the dreadnought) may re-roll the dice to see who goes first. Since the Dreadnought himself actually doesn't roll any dice (unless you've modelled some cool Dreadnought that rolls dice) the rule is pointless.
But assuming you can get past that ridiculous concept "it" does seem to clearly state that the space wolves player re-rolls, and since one player doesn't roll the dice for both players to see who goes first, the rule does indeed indicate that only the Space Wolf player re-rolls.
And the word "dice" can be used to designate a single die, at least in England.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/20 05:26:41
Subject: Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Obviously the SW player gets to reroll the dice and must reroll for both players.
Any word can be misused, that doesn't make it correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/20 15:44:17
Subject: Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)
The Great State of Texas
|
Why is it obvious that the SW player gets to force both to re-roll? Are there other instances where one player can force both players to re-roll?
|
-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/20 16:33:12
Subject: Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
yakface wrote:
Of course the other big issue that comes up is if the re-roll creates a tie and both players have to roll again can the Space Wolf player then use the re-roll again?
You can't re-roll a re-roll. If you are tieing, you are re-rolling.
|
**** Phoenix ****
Threads should be like skirts: long enough to cover what's important but short enough to keep it interesting. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/12/20 16:40:08
Subject: Stupid question of the week - SW vet dread and re-rolling first move
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
JCarter wrote:Obviously the SW player gets to reroll the dice and must reroll for both players.
Any word can be misused, that doesn't make it correct.
Very obviously...indeed...I always knew that.
So the SW player picks up both dice and re-rolls them for himself and his opponent?
|
On the topic 'Wich bases are supplied with my Terminators and how could I abuse it'...after turning into a debate on english language and the meaning of the word 'supply'.
tegeus-Cromis wrote:Everything that comes in the box is "accompanying" everything else that comes in the box. When you buy a Happy Meal from McD's, no one expects you to dunk the toy in the sauce, but it doesn't mean the toy wasn't "supplied with" it. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|