Switch Theme:

Ghazghkull's Waaagh!! - Is this right?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




When Ghazghkull waaaagh!!s, all infantry units count as rolling a 6 for the waaagh movement they make and become fearless for the durration of the Waaagh! Since the codex says Ghazghkull can waaaagh anytime after the first turn and his waaagh lasts 2 ork turns, would all infantry units get 2 waagh movements of 6 inches each - one during the turn he yells waaagh and one the following movement phase as Ghazghkull's waaaagh is still in effect? Effectively giving each infantry unit an additional 12" of movement over 2 turns.

Imagine this: 6 x 30 slugga boys are deployed at the Ork players 12" deployment zone. First turn they walk forward 6". Second turn Ghazghkull yells WAAAGH!!! and all the boys walk 6" and waaagh move 6" more. If the opponent was fool enough to move forward on his first turn and assuming the same standard 12" deployment on a 48" board - these orks could now charge forward into assault on turn 2. If the opponent was smart enough to set-up deeper (even at his back table edge) the orks move 6" regular in their turn 3 move phase and because Ghazghkull's WAAAGH is still in effect until the end of the turn, they move an additional 6" in the shooting phase. At this point, 180 orks have now moved 30 inches in 3 turns - add in 12" for forward deployment and you can now charge anything your opponent has put on the table.

Now this is not a whole lot different than 6 trukks screamming forward at 13" per turn and dropping boys off to assault on turn 3, but this could be as many as 180 slugga boys moving that fast. So for roughly 1400 points you could field 180 orks and Ghazghkull that move 30 inches in 3 turns and are fearless.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2007/12/28 04:53:08


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Negative. Ghazghkull's Waaaaagh! can be called at any time after the first game turn, and lasts for the rest of the player turn in which it is called, and all of the next player turn. During it's effect, Ghazghkull's 2+ save becomes Invulnerable. Also, all orks who move count as rolling a 6 for their Waaaagh! move roll - so all of the ork units subject to the Waaaagh! will get a 6" FoF move if they want it.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Since Ghazghkull's WAAAAGH!! lasts 2 full Ork turns, do all infantry units get 2 automatic 6" Waaagh! moves (1 in each turns shooting phase)?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2007/12/28 15:04:01


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




OK, I reread the rules and see the difference between Ghazghkull's Waaaagh!! and a standard Waaaagh!. Ghazghkull's can be called at anytime - even on an opponents turn (hence the use of the words "remainder of that player turn") - while the regular Waaagh! can only be done during the "Ork players shooting phase".

I was wrong - the boys will only get one 6" Waaagh! move as Ghazghkull's Waaagh! does not cover 2 Ork turns.

Thanks for the help.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




what advantage is there to calling it in your apponents turn ? the codex (AS IS) says that it lasts 2 player turns NOT players and opponents. bad wording by GW ??!?!? nah!

I say you get to waaagh the 12 inces.
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The advantage of calling it in your opponent's turn is giving Ghazghkull an invulnerable when he needs it.

The Codex states that it last for the remainder of a player turn after it is called and for the entire following player turn. There are two player turns in a single game turn (P.14. "The Game Turn", Main Rulebook). Since you don't get a Shooting phase in your opponent's player turn you only get to move units engaging in Fleet of Foot half a foot extra during the player turns in which Ghazghkull's Waaagh is invoked.

The wording is unambiguous, but as always comprehension may vary...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: