Switch Theme:

Deep Striking and the Pathfinder Devilfish  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





In the Tau Empire Codex a Pathfinder Devilfish has a beacon that allows deepstriking units to reroll the scatter dice if needed. During deepstriking only 1 Scatter Die is used. When they say Dice do they mean the additional 2 D6 scatter distance as well or just the actual "Scatter Die."
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


The "Scatter dice" is defined on page 5 of the rulebook as the die with the arrow and the target on it (GW uses the word "dice" in the rules when defining a singular die).


Since the term is defined I would say that the RAW only allows you to roll the Scatter die itself.


That said, I think the common way it is played (because of GW's strange use of the word "dice" to describe a "die") is that you can reroll all the dice involved in the Deep Striking process if you want.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





I think ill just ask my opponent before every game to avoid conflict. Thanks
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




the spire of angels

Yeah we just re-roll the entire roll when i do it with my tau. but remember the pathfinders fish has to have LOS to the DSer to get that re-roll.

"victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Cherry Hill, NJ

Yak is right, page 5 is very clear on this. Scatter Dice is a type of die that is used in Warhammer and Warhammer 40K and only that particular Die may be rerolled in this situation.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: