Switch Theme:

Battlewagon weapons question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Under the new codex it states May take a single big gun (does not include crew). Does this big gun (Zapp gun, lobba, kannon) require passsangers to fire? I can't find any explanation of the "does not include crew" comment in the codex


Also May take up to four of the following: big shoota, rokkit launcher. No blurb about crew so are these vehicle mounted and crew fired? If yes does this mean you can only fire one rockkit if you move up to 6"? Strength 8 therefor a primary weapon?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Yeah, this one had me scratching my head at first. I concluded that it becomes a vehicle mounted weapon and therefor vehicle crew would fire it so the standard crew isn't needed and can't be taken.

About the rokkits, as it stands they're rather pointless. Maybe 5th ed will change things?
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





No, the big gun does not require passengers to fire. The wording is to prevent people from gaining the benefit of a grot's BS on the vehicle mounted weapon.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Oh is that the deal? lol neat.

   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





El Paso, Texas

I'm curious about the Rokkit Launchas too. Jimbo has a point that they are Str 8 and would basically be considered main weapons which would be prevented from firing more than one if it moves. Anyone know if this is right or not? Seems kind of jacked up or poorly written if its not the intention of the writers.

Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?"  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




St. George, UT

Whats wrong with it? You can only shoot one S7 or higher weapon if you move. Just because a tank can have multiple weapons of higher strength doesn't change this rule in the least.

However, if the BW just sits still, you can unload all of its payload. So ask yourself, what do you want to do with it?

See pics of my Orks, Tau, Emperor's Children, Necrons, Space Wolves, and Dark Eldar here:


 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator





Hooper

But what if you have models riding in it can they fire all the rokkits?



This is silly! Buttons are not how one escapes dungeons! I would smash the button and rain beatings liberally down on the wizard for playing such a trick!


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I brought this up because under the previous version of the Ork Codex the bolt on big shootas were fired by the mob being transported and could not fire if no one riding the battlewagon. Many people I have talked to assume that the extra big shootas or rokkit launchers were the same and I can find nothing in the codex to support that.
Then they confuse the issue about the big gun - May take single big gun (does not include crew)- is this to differentitate between big gun battery which have grot crewmen? If so not sure why that statement is needed , since no vehicle weapon comes with extra crew unless noted and the vehicle has a BS of 2 regardless of what the same weapon in a big gun battery has for a BS.
On another not is the Zapp gun a primary or secondary weapon since it has a variable strength?
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Battlewagon's weapons have been brought into alignment with the usual vehicle rules rather than retaining a dead-end remnant of the 3rd edition rules. There should be no confusion (except, perhaps, in the heads of those poor silly souls who can't keep their edition rules straight).

Likewise the big gun thing appears to have been intended to discourage rules lawyers from arguing that they get to use the Grot Crew BS rather than the vehicle's BS and gain an unintended advantage.

Whether the Zzap gun is a primary weapon or a secondary weapon is an interesting question though. I figure one should roll for its strength first and if it's a primary weapon then follow up with secondary weapons, and it is a secondary weapon follow it up with a primary weapon and other secondary weapons. After all, there are no situations where a secondary weapon can fire when a primary weapon cannot.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




St. George, UT

You just roll for the strength of the zzap first, that will tell you if it is a primary or secondary weapon, then choose what to shoot accordingly. Easy.


See pics of my Orks, Tau, Emperor's Children, Necrons, Space Wolves, and Dark Eldar here:


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: