Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/09 00:05:15
Subject: Piling on to draw a unit into combat
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
City of Lost Angels
|
interesting thing came up at my last game. My opponent had models from 2 different units within 1" of each other (almost touching) and I won combat with a large squad on my turn. When it came time to pile on, following the rules, it looks like I hit models that are unengaged first and then within 2" of engaged and then whatever.
Well, I had something like 12 models to his 4 or 5, 1 of which was within an inch of another model. At first it looked like I could engage the other unit and meet all the requirements, but then I seemed to recall reading somewhere (but was unable to find) a rule disallowing me to bring in a new unit so I didn't (which i still think is right). However, we ended up with a wierd situation where I was within an inch of unit not engaged in combat because I had to come within 1" to engage an unengaged model from the unit.
Basically, in horrible ascii it was something like this - there was no room to go between his models to hit the back of the highest A on the ascii chart below. It isn't a perfect representation but hopefully close enough.
So, I guess the question is 2 part.
1. Can one "pile in" to an unengaged unit once all engaged models are filled up in base to base and still within 2". My gut says no.
and
2. In the following example must one of the engaged unit be left without B2B until his pile in? My gut says yes.
I think I have them right, but then, that was my side during the game so it would be and I could easily be wrong ;-)
.....B..
.......
......B.
.......B..A
..........A
..ZZ.ZA.A..
....Z.........A
Many move Zs thata <----- way
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/01/09 00:06:00
If you are a poster rather than a player I beg of you to share your witticisms, insight and tactical expertise elsewhere. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/09 00:17:20
Subject: Piling on to draw a unit into combat
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
See P. 44, "'Pile In' Moves"
You can only make Pile In Moves to move into base to base contact with unengaged models in units that were locked in the same combat. If unit A has unengaged models after a combat with unit B, they can only move into base to base contact with models from unit B via Pile In Moves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/09 14:44:05
Subject: Re:Piling on to draw a unit into combat
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Also, you are not allowed to be within 1" of an enemy unit you aren't engaged in HtH with, which would impede your ability to touch the second unit's models to bring them into combat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/09 14:49:52
Subject: Piling on to draw a unit into combat
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Agreed. You can’t use the Pile In move to engage enemy units which were not already Locked into the same combat.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/09 17:40:36
Subject: Piling on to draw a unit into combat
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Cherry Hill, NJ
|
Also remember that if you cannot move then he must move to engage the most amount of models he can.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/09 18:42:38
Subject: Piling on to draw a unit into combat
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
City of Lost Angels
|
Okay cool, so I played it right, his argument was just kind of convincing (especially because it worked to my favor). Thanks!
|
If you are a poster rather than a player I beg of you to share your witticisms, insight and tactical expertise elsewhere. |
|
 |
 |
|