Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/11 04:40:19
Subject: Can a weird boys unit shoot when he uses Here We Go?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Greenville SC
|
Played a game today and a rules question came up that I'm not aure has been addressed on here. I rolled a "5" for my psychic power test and deep struck a unit of shootas and the WB in the middle of a bunch of Tau. Can they shoot after this jump has been made? I know per Deep Strike rules it's so, but the wording is a little tricky. Any input?
Thanks,
wOOkie
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/11 04:49:18
Subject: Can a weird boys unit shoot when he uses Here We Go?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Deleted
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/20 14:35:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/11 05:15:38
Subject: Can a weird boys unit shoot when he uses Here We Go?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
Murfreesboro, TN
|
I think he means in the middle of the Tau formation, not into a specific unit.
|
As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.
But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/11 05:17:16
Subject: Re:Can a weird boys unit shoot when he uses Here We Go?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Greenville SC
|
Yeah, sorry I should have been more specific. I safely landed in the middle of a lot of his forces and we went ahead and allowed it as per DS rules like you say. I dont have the codex in front of me right now, but the way it's worded it seems that the WeirdBoy uses his psychis power at the beginning of the shooting phase, so, if he uses the power, which replaces his shooting attack, and jumps the squad he's with, does that mean they count as having shot because he's used the power, or can they then make their shooting attack. I hope that makes it a little more clearer now. We went ahead and played it that they could shoot, but I want to make sure I'm doing everythign right for future games.
Thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/11 05:27:15
Subject: Can a weird boys unit shoot when he uses Here We Go?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
He can't shoot.
They can.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/11 06:03:42
Subject: Can a weird boys unit shoot when he uses Here We Go?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
sugarwookie: That's much more interesting. I hadn't thought of it that way. I'll check and see what's going on.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/11 06:17:27
Subject: Can a weird boys unit shoot when he uses Here We Go?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Stelek wrote:He can't shoot.
They can.
I disagree. The Wierdboy Psychic Power rules state:
"A Wierdboy using the Frazzle or Zzap power is counted as having shot a weapon that phase."
Beyond that there doesn't appear to be anything that indicates a Wierdboy using a power does so instead of shooting a weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/01/11 07:19:02
Subject: Can a weird boys unit shoot when he uses Here We Go?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Exactly as yakface said. The weirdboy psychic powers just take place in the shooting phase, they don't all count as shooting, just as any other race's psychic power doesn't count as an attack unless stated otherwise.
|
|
 |
 |
|