Switch Theme:

Smoke launchers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in be
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

I was re-reading the rules for smoke launchers and something struck me... In the description of them (in both the SM codex and IG codex) it says that the vehicle may not fire and use smoke launchers in the same turn. What about a unit that is riding in a Rhino or Chimera and shooting out of the top hatch? By RAW it would seem they are not a part of the vehicle (evenif they are a part of the same unit) and thus not subject to its restrictions. Fluff-wise they should be no more able to fire than the vehicle, but the rule actually does not mention a unit firing out of it. I have never played it this way and don't know of anyone who does, but by RAW am I wrong? Is there some sort of consensus or a GW clarification that the unit inside is a part of the vehicle? Interested in your rulings. Pls cite a page reference...

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Yeah, this hole has been there since 4th edition was published in 2004. It's never been FAQ'd.

Yes, you can fire out the top.

Yes, many players choose not to, or simply overlook the option.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





El Paso, Texas

Oddly enough, this has come up in many of my games locally. We decided that since the rules basically state that since a unit is not technically on the field while in transport, they are considered part of the vehicle for all intents and purposes until departure. Therefore, the weapons fired by the embarked passengers are actually to be considered different vehicle weapons which are still subject to not firing during the use of Smoke Launchers. I will try and find pages ASAP.

Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?"  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Quite a few people play that way.

There are no page rulings or rules FAQ to quote.

Been a loophole for a long time.

Personally it qualifies as bullsh*t so I don't do it and I do my best to encourage others not to.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Theres actually a FAQ that sort of supports Daboss interpretation:

Q. If a transported model fires from a Fire Point or from
an open-topped transport, where do you measure the
LOS and range of the shot from?
A. As transported models are not physically on the table,
the shot is treated as a shot from the vehicle itself. This
means that the LOS and range are worked out from the
Fire Point itself, or from any point of an open-topped
transport.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





El Paso, Texas

Thank you Imriel, thats exactly what I was referring to. I remembered seeing it somewhere, just forgot where.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/01/13 17:12:16


Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?"  
   
Made in be
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

Thanks guys. I agree and will continue to play the way I have been (not allowing the passengers to fire out). It seems the most fair IMHO and makes the most sense to me.

Armies in my closet:  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: