Switch Theme:

Space Wolves 1st turn charge?!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





Hello, guys.
A friend of mine recently stated that he could easyly charge on 1st turn with his Space Wolves.
The units in question are the Blood-Wolves-Bikesquadron (or something like that ).
The rules say that they always have to charge, if there is a foe within 6''.
Of course, as having bikes, they may use the Boosters to move up to 24''.
If they do so, the can't charge.
He argues that, although he cannot, he MUST charge, and so he does.
Well, although I'm pretty sure hat this is not possible, i'd like to request some hints to rules that clarify what happens if
something MUST, but CAN'T occure.
So far: Let yourself go!
Thank you!
   
Made in us
Crazed Witch Elf




Albuquerque, NM

You're right. If he moves the full 24' then he cannot charge. He can only charge if he has the option to charge. Therefore, if he only moved 12' and something was in 6' range he would HAVE to charge them. He doesn't get a extra 6' movement.

Imperial Guard

40k - 6-12-0
City Fight - 0-0-0
Planetstrike - 0-0-1
Apocolypse - 4-2-1  
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Exactly. He only must charge if he has the ability to charge.
   
Made in us
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper





Weak. No charging. If something can't happen, then it can't happen. And since it seems likely to come up . . .

It's worth pointing out that Blood Claws can't fire their bolt pistols twice if they are within 6" of the enemy. No firing twice then charging; no firing twice then claiming they can't charge. If they are within 6", then they must charge and can't do anything that would prevent them from charging - i.e. firing bolt pistols twice.

If you're going to play against Space Wolves a lot, checking out the FAQ will be handy.

http://us.games-workshop.com/errata/errata.htm

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/01/13 19:03:57


 
   
Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





Thank you all so far, It seems to be just as i thought...


Wraith wrote:...can't do anything that would prevent them from charging - i.e. firing bolt pistols twice.


Are you sure about that one, i mean, it would also effect other armies like BT...
Very curious about that
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

You can still eat a massive SW bike charge on the *second* turn, however.

The toughest one I played against had something like 12 dogs, 11 bikes, storm caller, and all 3 IC's. It was hellish trying to kill that. Turns out I couldn't, and it took all of my IC's and my two assault units along with most of my gunline to beat it off. If I'd had less assault units, it could have beaten me. Thankfully he only had 2 GH packs in 2 LR's for me to deal with outside the bikers, so it wasn't so bad.

It is quite amusing to see it in play though.

   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

FuzzyOrb wrote:
Wraith wrote:...can't do anything that would prevent them from charging - i.e. firing bolt pistols twice.


Are you sure about that one, i mean, it would also effect other armies like BT...
Very curious about that


Since it's in the SW FAQ on the GW site, yes, he can be pretty sure about that one. Most of us do take it as a precedent and apply it to other armies (IG Priests is another one).

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





OOhh, of course GW didn't write it into the german FAQ!

Thanks for your answers, it clearified the issue a lot!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: