Switch Theme:

Spell casted in your turn  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







Miscasted a spell today and rolled the result that allowed
the opponent to automatically cast their spell. I know I can
use power dice to dispel, but can I use a scroll?

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Yes. It says you can dispell it as normal- which means you could use dispell dice, or a scroll, or possibly a rune or magic item. Then, since it is your turn and you generated power dice, they clarify that you can use your power dice as dispell dice, for this specific purpose. Much as you would if you were trying to dispell a remained-in-play spell from your opponent's turn.




Because there are a bunch of nit-picky RAW bastards out there who would try to claim that you couldn't use your power dice to dispell it, because they aren't dispell dice, if it didn't explicitly say so.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/01/16 03:47:34


He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Nope, as the rules don't give you that option.

"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






You sure? I read 'dispelled as normal' and normally you can use either dice or scrolls.

In fact, if my opponent wanted to use a scroll to stop this spell- which costs me nothing, not even the risk of a miscast- I'd be happy to let him.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/01/16 03:57:03


He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







The rules for it says you can dispell as normal using power
dice. He let me use a scroll, but I made a note to ask about
it.

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







p. 109

miscast table 5-6

"but it can be dispelled by the player whose turn it is as normal (by using power dice in the same way as dispel dice)."



"As soon as a spell has been cast, any Wizard who has a Dispel Scroll can read it instead of attempting to dispel the spell by using dispel dice."

So does that mean that I can't use it as I don't have
any dispel dice in my casting phase?

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Exactly.

"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto.  
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







Oops. Yay for me?

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Los Angeles, CA

Most people will let you do it. Only the true nit-pickers like Maul will complain about that one.

6th edition had a line forbidding it which was removed in 7th.

Call me The Master of Strategy

Warhammer
Army Strategy
Unit Strategy 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending





Houston, TX

Using power dice "in the same way" as dispel dice sure sounds an awful lot like you can use the dispel scroll instead of using the power dice that are used in the same way as dispel dice.

-James
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

That's an explicit authorization to do it. No such provision exists for the scroll, unfortunately.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut







"Spell casted"...and you are a teacher?

Hobby Articles On My Site: CLICK HERE

Little Green Monsters : xenite.wordpress.com

 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







xenite wrote:"Spell casted"...and you are a teacher?
\

For an artist you sure do take a long time to paint a little figure

I dunno. Maybe I meant that someone, you know, made a mold and
then casted the spell out of iron or resin or something.

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: