Switch Theme:

Easy One - Runtherds  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

If I have 23 gretchin how many runtherds must I take? 2 or 3?

- Salvage

KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I think 3 because each controls 10 and the extra three create the need for another handler. not worth it imho, just take 20

SM- Lets roll to see who goes first
Nob- Urgh...ok, I got a 6
SM- Oops, looks like I got an 8, so I go first
Nob- You got a 8 on a 6 sided die?
SM- Um, yep.
Nob- Space marines.....




 

   
Made in ca
Yellin' Yoof




London, Ontario

Well, codex says for every 10 gretchin you need one more runtherd, i take that to mean that for every full 10 grot models another runtherd must be purchased, much like it is understood that I can't take 2 special weapons in a 12 boy mob.
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

Good analogy KIL. Waiting for the logic fiends to tell me if I can burn some points in extra grots or not ...

- Salvage

KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in de
Dominating Dominatrix






Piercing the heavens

I would also thend to 3, since you basically started the 3rd 10 grotz.
   
Made in ca
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers






Well I kind of moved near Toronto, actually.

Boss_Salvage wrote:Good analogy KIL. Waiting for the logic fiends to tell me if I can burn some points in extra grots or not ...

- Salvage


"For every 10 Orks, one Ork may take ...."
"For every 10 Gretchin, you must take one ...."

so unless 11 Orks can take two weapons 1 Runtherder can handle 19 Grots.

MIN/MAXing lives on in 5th ed.

Dakka Articles: Eldar Tactica | In Defence of Starcannons (math) | Ork Takktika Quick Tips
taco online: WoW PvP
ur hax are nubz 
   
Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





That's it.
For every ten gretchin, you must take a runtherd.
In other words: if there are 10 gretchin standing there, 1 runtherd must stand beside them.

Imagine there's a group of gretchin (lets stick with 23).
23 equals
10+10+3

10 <---Need a runtherd
+
10 <---Need a runtherd
+
3 <---Don't need a rundherd, because we remember that for every TEN gretchin, you need a runtherd.

I hope that helped you :-)
   
Made in gb
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Spreading the word of the Turtle Pie

Thats quite nice, just drop points by taking only 29 grots.

   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

I can deal with that, and was how I was approaching it in the first place. Thanks for the clarification all!

- Salvage

KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




so really, i can take 29 grots and only 2 herds?

SM- Lets roll to see who goes first
Nob- Urgh...ok, I got a 6
SM- Oops, looks like I got an 8, so I go first
Nob- You got a 8 on a 6 sided die?
SM- Um, yep.
Nob- Space marines.....




 

   
Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





indeed.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I agree that two Runtherds for 20-29 Grots is correct by the RAW.

Although it seems pretty strange that a 3rd Runtherd is required only by taking the 30th Grot, so much so that it seems unlikely that they intended it that way.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




yea, i agree with yakface, who is watching out for the other nine grots?

SM- Lets roll to see who goes first
Nob- Urgh...ok, I got a 6
SM- Oops, looks like I got an 8, so I go first
Nob- You got a 8 on a 6 sided die?
SM- Um, yep.
Nob- Space marines.....




 

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: