Switch Theme:

Funny questions about spore mines  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

So, discussing odd rulings, a number of questions came up, some of which have been covered. so looking for odd feedback, here we go


If a spore mine is turned into a chaos spawn does it explode, and can the spawn get hit?

When fired from a brood of three biovores that miss their target, are the second and third spore mines scattered or placed?

If only one biovore in a brood of three is within range of the target, how many blasts/sporemines are used?

If only one biovore in a brood is withing LOS how many scatter dice are used?

Do spore mines fired from Biovores need a target unit?

Can mines from one spore mine cluster (from any source) ever be OUT of base to base contact with the other mines in that cluster?

Spore mines are allowed to move within 1" of enemy models during movement, but without being in base do they explode, and if not, doesn's SOMEONE have to move a model?

Why not put spore mines on larger bases? If any unit ever begged for it, this is the one.



there shall probably be more later.


shrug

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Chaos Spawn don't explode. Nearby Spore Marines will.

Follow the rules for Multiple Barrages.

See above. Only weapons in range may be used.

See above. The scatter dice for the model in LOS.

Yes.

No.

They do not explode unless in base-to-base or an enemy within 2" shoots. No one has to move a model. They just get nice a cosy.

Because you can't always fire them all together, such as when members of the Biovore Brood are out of range, and they aren't always bought in groups of three. Also, having a larger base is good for them so you'd for any number of Spores Mines (1-3) you'd want to base them on a base of the same area to preserve how they working according to the rules where separate basing is assumed.
   
Made in us
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper





Nurglitch wrote:Because you can't always fire them all together, such as when members of the Biovore Brood are out of range, and they aren't always bought in groups of three. Also, having a larger base is good for them so you'd for any number of Spores Mines (1-3) you'd want to base them on a base of the same area to preserve how they working according to the rules where separate basing is assumed.


I'm thinking he means put 1 mine on a nice big base, so it's easier for it to contact the enemy. Rule book even says bigger is ok. Hmmmm . . .

Other than that, a casual no-rulebook glance leaves me agreeing with you.

kirsanth wrote:If only one biovore in a brood is withing LOS how many scatter dice are used?


Interesting. Guess I'd use the one with LOS as the first shot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/01/18 23:24:16


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

about the chaos spawn question. "it" should refer to the spore mine. the chaos spawn exploding wasnt an issue.

as far as barrage rules for placing secondary and tertiary mines the SPORE MINE rules say "place" not "scatter" or any such wording.

I question your logic on some of those Nurglitch . . . did you check a Tyranid codex or just the base book? the codex should supercede the main rules in these cases, correct?

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





No, being turned into a Chaos Spawn renders the previously explosive Spore Mine inert, rather than shooting it and rendering it explosive. The Gift of Chaos isn't shooting.

Yes, it does say that. It says: "Place a Blast Marker centered over the mine in base contact (do not scatter this marker) and resolve it as a normal barrage with the number of templates equal to the number of mines in that cluster."

Considering I offered no logic I find it curious that you would question something non-existent. That said I pulled out both the Tyranid Codex and the RUlebook. The specific interactions between the rules, which ones supersede which when in conflict, depends on the rules in question rather than a simple and universal 'Codex Override'.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

It does not take shooting to explode a spore mine ("or otherwise killed")

and as for "Place a Blast Marker centered over the mine in base contact (do not scatter this marker) and resolve it as a normal barrage with the number of templates equal to the number of mines in that cluster."

that is for the explosion. I am questioning the the "placement" of the mines themselves. That never mentions scatter or barrage rules, unless i am missing something.

I do not need to have your logical process in text to question your logic. The statement was made to expand on my question, and hoping you would explain some of the logic, since it was not written out.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Yes, yes you do have to have the process of my logic in front of you to question it. Otherwise you are not questioning my logic, you are questioning its conclusions under the assumption that I used any valid form of logic to infer it. Paraphrasing or citing the text is not logic.

If a spore mine is reduced to zero wounds, or comes into base-to-base contact with the enemy, or an enemy within 2" shoots, then it explodes. The rules for the Gift of Chaos state that models affected by the power do not take wounds from it, it does not count as shooting, and can be done from a safe distance of up to 6" away.

Spore Mines are either delivered by Deep Strike from mines purchased with a Fast Attack Force Organization Chart slot, or they are delivered like ordinary barrage weapons by Broods of Biovores (P.24. Codex: Tyranids). When they arrive by Deep Strike place the additional Spore Mines in contact with the first in the approved Deep Strike fashion.

Whereas usually you place Deep Striking models so they do not overlap with enemies on the board, obviously putting the extra Spore Mines in base-to-base contact with the first one such that they satisfy one of the conditions for exploding (and thus scatter from the point of the exploding mine) is permitted because they are permitted to move within 1" of enemy models.

There, that may not be logic, but it often passes in dim light.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





St. Louis, MO

I don't have my CSM codex in front of me.
Doesn't the Gift power say something about rolling higher than the target's toughness?
Does a spore mine HAVE a toughness rating? (Don't have the Nid codex)

If it doesn't, then you can't target it with the power. Even a 6 isn't higher than a toughness that isn't there.

If the power needs to roll higher than your T (or a 6 being autosucceed if T is higher than 6), and your model has no T rating, then it shouldn't be able to be targeted.

Otherwise, you could start targeting familiars that are based separately from their sorcerers & other pieces of wargear.

Make sense?

Eric



Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Spore Mines have a profile with Toughness and Wounds.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: