Switch Theme:

Looted Wagon "Don't press dat"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Does "don't press dat" count as moving if you stop immediatly?
It counts as not moving by RAW, fire away! 8% [ 1 ]
It counts as not moving by RAW but it should be moving less then 6" by RAI, clear it with your opponent first. 23% [ 3 ]
It counts as moving less then 6" by RAW, still a good trick. 38% [ 5 ]
It counts as moving you full 12" move by RAW 8% [ 1 ]
Something completly different. 23% [ 3 ]
Total Votes : 13
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in cn
Grovelin' Grot




Shanghai

Obviously if you "press dat" and there is a friendly model in front of you you stop in base contact with that friendly because you cannot move over friendly models. The question is, if I have a friendly in front of the looted wagon in base contact at the beginning of the movement phase and I "press dat" the wagon doesn't move. Can I fire all my weapons as if I didn't move? or does it count as moving but moving less then 6" so I can only fire one main weapon?

The Internet Grammer Nazi says: "All of your bases belong to us." 
   
Made in us
Kabalite Conscript





I tend to think that when the rules are deficient you go to the fluff. Here we have the orks pressing their turbo boost buttons. This has to account for something, since it's gray I'd generally give my opponent the benefit of the doubt and say it's moved less than 6". I'd compare it to say, models that try to move into difficult terrain and are forced to take a test. Sometimes this can result in the model moving so slowly it doesn't even make it to the terrain in question. The ork vehicle tries to move, but can't. It still counts as trying to move.

Love means never having to say you're ugly. 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I agree. You definitely only move the vehicle as far as you can (so running into friendly models or impassable terrain will stop the move).

If a friendly model is in base contact with the vehicle when they 'hit the button' by the RAW the model technically doesn't move any distance, but it is pretty clear that it "moved" in the general sense of the word (and most certainly less than 6").


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Spreading the word of the Turtle Pie

I'd say that, for example, your looted wagon is 3 inches behind an ork unit and 9 inches behind impassable terrain. The looted wagon tank shocks his own boyz unit then crashes into impassable terrain, destroying itself.

   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia




Amarillo, TX

Mekboy wrote:I'd say that, for example, your looted wagon is 3 inches behind an ork unit and 9 inches behind impassable terrain. The looted wagon tank shocks his own boyz unit then crashes into impassable terrain, destroying itself.


Whee, lets make something that is too expensive for its own purpose, add in the ability to screw yourself over, and we will tie it up with this pretty little bow, pink for added flavor of course.

1) You have to declare a tank shock. I see nothing about it stating the declaration of a tank shock.
2) If I recall correctly, your infantry models don't impede your vehicles. I could be wrong but I'm not digging up my rule book as I have a 103 degree fever and this isn't that important.

Other than that, I feel that you have the ability to fire depending on the distance you have traveled. If you get lucky with rolling 6 or below then you just hit the Orky jackpot

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/01/31 04:37:58


"The need to be right is the sign of a vulgar mind." -Albert Camus

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DR:80S+++G+++M++B+++I+Pw40k98#++D++A+++/mWD229R++++T(S)DM++
======End Dakka Geek Code======
-Armies-
1850 Mech
4000 Speed Freeks
2500
2500 Mech





 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Mekboy wrote:I'd say that, for example, your looted wagon is 3 inches behind an ork unit and 9 inches behind impassable terrain. The looted wagon tank shocks his own boyz unit then crashes into impassable terrain, destroying itself.



That's a whole lot of house rules you've made up to satisfy your example. The rules don't allow vehicles to tank shock their own units and vehicles aren't allowed to move into impassable terrain (and there certainly aren't any rules for vehicles 'crashing' and destroying themselves).

Kej wrote:

1) You have to declare a tank shock. I see nothing about it stating the declaration of a tank shock.
2) If I recall correctly, your infantry models don't impede your vehicles. I could be wrong but I'm not digging up my rule book as I have a 103 degree fever and this isn't that important.

Other than that, I feel that you have the ability to fire depending on the distance you have traveled. If you get lucky with rolling 6 or below then you just hit the Orky jackpot



2) The rules do not allow vehicles to move over friendly troops and in fact the basic movement rules strictly prohibit this (and vehicles follow the basic movement rules except where their rules differ).

You also don't roll for distance, the rule simply states that the vehicle moves "as far as possible", which means that if it encounters something it cannot pass through (friendly models, impassable terrain, an enemy vehicle with an equal or higher frontal value, a wreck) then it cannot move any further and it would stop.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia




Amarillo, TX

Following my disclaimer, I admit that I was guessing as best I could without diggin up books.

As far as the rolling...I got the last edition confused with the new one.

Note to self: Don't try to think with a 103 degree fever. Your brains doesn't work very well At least my first point was right

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/02/01 02:55:45


"The need to be right is the sign of a vulgar mind." -Albert Camus

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DR:80S+++G+++M++B+++I+Pw40k98#++D++A+++/mWD229R++++T(S)DM++
======End Dakka Geek Code======
-Armies-
1850 Mech
4000 Speed Freeks
2500
2500 Mech





 
   
Made in us
Grovelin' Grot




Northern NJ

No offense, but I think it is dumb to say that an orky boy would press then button and then say, "wait, derz boyz in fronta us, we betta stop ladz." I think that the units must move out of the way (i.e. even the friendly unit must move out of the way.) To allow the tank to move through. Sure, nothing in the book says that this has to be done, but neither is there anything that says, explicitly, that it must stop. You are taking two rules and mashing them together; the fact that a unit may not move over a friendly model does not cover the situation where a vehicle just decides to randomly rampage out of control. Also, what do you think that orky trukks can stop on a dime (or less than a dime in the case of base to base contact with a vehicle). That's crazy!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/02/01 03:09:51


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Zargyboy wrote:No offense, but I think it is dumb to say that an orky boy would press then button and then say, "wait, derz boyz in fronta us, we betta stop ladz." I think that the units must move out of the way (i.e. even the friendly unit must move out of the way.) To allow the tank to move through. Sure, nothing in the book says that this has to be done, but neither is there anything that says, explicitly, that it must stop. You are taking two rules and mashing them together; the fact that a unit may not move over a friendly model does not cover the situation where a vehicle just decides to randomly rampage out of control. Also, what do you think that orky trukks can stop on a dime (or less than a dime in the case of base to base contact with a vehicle). That's crazy!



From a fluff point of view you and I are in complete agreement. An Ork who hits a button isn't suddenly going to stop because there are boyz in the way.

However, often rules have to be simplified in order to make things work in a game and that is exactly what has been done in this case. There just aren't rules for vehicles tank shocking their own models, running into impassable terrain and blowing up, ramming vehicles with an equal or higher frontal AV, etc, etc, etc).

So read the rule again, it does not say that the vehicle must move its full movement value. It says:

"On the roll of a 1, that vehicle must move directly forward as far as possible as the Orks inside get carried away." (colored emphasis mine).


As you can see the vehicle only must move as far as possible. There is nothing in that rule stating it ignores any of the basic movement rules and therefore it must abide by them. So if it encounters anything it normally isn't able to move through it must stop. There just isn't any other way to play it without making up several rules.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/02/01 04:44:10


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: