Switch Theme:

Rites of Battle Q  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Does the wording of "Rites of Battle" allow it not to be used? Can a Space Marine player choose not to gain the effects of the rule in order to increase his chance of falling back, say from out of charge range?

Am currently working 300 KM from my home and didn't bring my SM Codex.

Thanks in advance.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran




Baltimore, MD

C: SM pg. 28, Commander entry, last sentence.

If a Space Marine Commander is on the table then all other Space Marine squads MAY use his Leadership for Morale, Pinning or Leadership tests, but not Psychic tests.

Emphasis mine.

May choose to use his leadership also means may choose not to. So yes, you can choose to not use his leadership to (hopefully) fall back out of charge range.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/02/21 18:36:21


Proud owner of &


Play the game, not the rules.
 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Many thanks for the swift reply

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran




Baltimore, MD

You're welcome.

Dakka on, young squire!!!

Proud owner of &


Play the game, not the rules.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Cherry Hill, NJ

Don't be confused with the terminology of MAY. In British English there is no difference between MAY and MUST. Also (I need to find the exact page number) int the BGB it does say that a unit must alway use the highest available leadership.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Negativemoney wrote:In British English there is no difference between MAY and MUST.


Sorry, but this is nonsense.

'May' indicates permission to do something, as opposed to 'can' which indicates the capability to do something.




Negativemoney wrote:Also (I need to find the exact page number) int the BGB it does say that a unit must alway use the highest available leadership.


You won't find that page number, because it doesn't exist.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/02/21 22:06:21


 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran




Baltimore, MD

Negativemoney wrote:Don't be confused with the terminology of MAY. In British English there is no difference between MAY and MUST.

Yer kiddin' me. Interpretting exactly how to play 40k based upon what GW has written is bad enough. Now I'm expected to take into account British English idioms too?

Proud owner of &


Play the game, not the rules.
 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Worcester, UK

KiMonarrez and insaniak are quite correct, you have a choice to use the leadership or not

Negativemoney wrote:Don't be confused with the terminology of MAY. In British English there is no difference between MAY and MUST.


Since when? May and Must are two completely seperate things in any language, unless there's been some kind of conspiracy to re-define every dictionary known to man "damn govenments"

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

I suspect the 'may' confusion comes from the Rapid Fire discussions... some people have taken the general ruling (that 'may fire 2 shots at 12"' doesn't allow you to fire one shot) to mean that 'may' in that case means 'must'... and from there have extrapolated that the English use it like that all the time.

Which is simply not the case.

 
   
Made in ca
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator






Kinda back on subject; Can you use Rites of Battle if the SM Captain is in a Land Raider. I know there's a weird/confusing ruling about being on the table and being on the battlefield.

Thanks!

"This is a gentleman's game."

Hellfire: No excuses, hobby like a champion
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The rulebook FAQ states that, unless differently specified in the relevant rules, transported models are not "on the table" and thus can't confer their special rules. So it would seem that a SM Captain in a Land Raider cannot pass along his leadership.

I'm not sure what the table/battlefield confusion is?

"I didn't say I was ATTACKING the Umber Hulk. I said I was THINKING about it." -- Jimbo Jones as one of "The 12 Types of Fantasy Gamers" in "Comic Book Guy's Book of Pop Culture" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: