Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/03 02:41:25
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Played two games of 1000 points tmc and gaunts, and had great success against blood angels and black templar.
My third game was against another tmc army. I made a few basic mistakes and lost.
But he had a curious configuration: genestealers with rending claws and scything talons. He claimed three rending attacks per round. On page 31 of the codex, under the heading rending claws, it says "tyranids with rending claws gain the Rending ability for all their close combat attacks."
Is this the consensus interpretation? Does this meaning the scything talons also gain rending? Tried looking around for a previous posting that covered this and only found a question on another site about bioplasma as not covered by this interpretation.
-Nooobody
|
Record (with marines):
2-0-3
For The EMPEROR!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/03 02:43:36
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver
|
rending claws make all your attacks have the rending ability ie; 6 to hit=instant wound with no armor saves allowed.
scything talons give you one extra attack, just like old chaos demonic mutation. so yes 3 rending per round is legal but expensive
|
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBeivizzsPc |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/03 09:18:16
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It blows, but it's legal.
4 on the Charge is the worst..............
|
"Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Only with Minatures, does size matter...
"Only the living collect a pension"Johannes VII
"If the ork codex and 5th were developed near the same time, any possible nerf will be pre-planned."-malfred
"I'd do it but the GW Website makes my eyes hurt. "Gwar
"That would be page 7 and a half. You find it by turning your rulebook on its side and slamming your head against it..." insaniak
MeanGreenStompa - The only chatbot I ever tried talking to insisted I take a stress pill and kept referring to me as Dave, despite my protestations.
insaniak "So, by 'serious question' you actually meant something entirely different? "
Frazzled[Mod] On Rule #1- No it literally means: be polite. If we wanted less work there would be no OT section.
Chowderhead - God no. If I said Pirates Honor, I would have had to kill him whether he won or lost. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/06 13:46:14
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Even when you use the bioplasma in your warriors in addition to rending claws this bp attack is rending too...
|
Purgin the heretics throug bolter fire since 1996 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/06 18:07:11
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The rending claws rules on page 31 states:
Tyrranids with rending claws gain the Rending ability for all their close combat attacks.
Thus any attack that is designated a close combat attack would benefit of the rending ability.
The bio-plasma attack is however a good question.
I would say yes, its rending as it is defined as a close combat attack however I am not sure how to counter a claim that is not a normal to hit roll however...
I would still say yes, its rending.
|
Stelek wrote:Dude, you cannot FNP MC CC attacks. I don't care how you "read" the rules. I even don't care if you are correct and GW says you can. lol In short GW rulings are void! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/06 18:32:57
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
fester wrote:The rending claws rules on page 31 states:
Tyrranids with rending claws gain the Rending ability for all their close combat attacks.
Thus any attack that is designated a close combat attack would benefit of the rending ability.
The bio-plasma attack is however a good question.
I would say yes, its rending as it is defined as a close combat attack however I am not sure how to counter a claim that is not a normal to hit roll however...
I would still say yes, its rending.
eh?
Where does a "normal to hit roll" ever come up?
I read "any roll to hit" in the book along with "all their close combat attacks". The exceptions are pretty clearly listed.
Why is this even an issue? The only confusing part is that this part is confusing to some folks. The rending rules are consistent with the way all CC is handled.
What is funny is a Rending Mace tail. . . erp? Although, if anything is going to rip someone apart with a blunt object, it would be a carnifex.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/06 19:50:17
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
Rending claws on an MC is just dumb
|
I play
I will magnetize (now doing LED as well) your models for you, send me a DM!
My gallery images show some of my work
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/06 20:32:18
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Lormax wrote:Rending claws on an MC is just dumb
No.
It is funny too.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/06 23:56:58
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
For his opponent
|
I play
I will magnetize (now doing LED as well) your models for you, send me a DM!
My gallery images show some of my work
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/07 01:10:32
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
I'm too lazy to go get my codexs out of my car... But doesn't it say Bio-Plasma is unaffected by the guy's other special rules like MC or Rending?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/07 01:25:25
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Aduro wrote:I'm too lazy to go get my codexs out of my car... But doesn't it say Bio-Plasma is unaffected by the guy's other special rules like MC or Rending?
Nope, it only mentions that it doesn't benefit from the MC rules, nothing at all about Rending.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/11 20:19:22
Subject: Re:tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Actually Yakface, go to the Tyranid FAQ on gw's website and it says bioplasma is not affected by rending...
-Nooobody
|
Record (with marines):
2-0-3
For The EMPEROR!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/11 21:21:39
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I don't see it in the FAQ....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/12 18:33:08
Subject: Re:tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
Nooobody wrote:Actually Yakface, go to the Tyranid FAQ on gw's website and it says bioplasma is not affected by rending...
-Nooobody
Yeah, I'm not seeing it in the FAQ either. In fact, the words Rending and Bio Plasma don't even appear in the FAQ at all.
|
Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/03/12 18:52:16
Subject: tyranids - dumb question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If an official FAQ states it then it is law.
If you are at a tournament where they have an independent FAQ and it states this then that FAQ is law for that tournament.
If you have an issue you should play nice and after you crush all the opponents, charm all the ladies, recieve all the trophies (including the sportsmanship one) you should swing over by the judges table and drop a FYI, this rule may need some looking into...
If you loose like most of us will then suck it upp, get a beverege you are legally allowed to drink and enjoy and drown your anger in it and explain to yourself that next time you should actually read the tournament FAQ and not just print it out and stick it in a pretty binder, if the same rule comes upp then you should then bring the issue up before the tournament starts.
All I know is that the rending claws rules claim that all the models CC attacks are considered rending.
I am sure there can be exeptions but then they will be clearly stated where needed.
|
Stelek wrote:Dude, you cannot FNP MC CC attacks. I don't care how you "read" the rules. I even don't care if you are correct and GW says you can. lol In short GW rulings are void! |
|
 |
 |
|