Switch Theme:

Dark Angels inquiry regarding 'Banner of the Ravenwing"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User



Australia

I hope I got the name of the equipment correct (running of memory after a game and not owning the DA codex myself).

Does the Banner give the +1A and reroll LD abilities to all models in the Squadron, even if the Squadron is split up upon deployment?

E.G: Squadron purchased = 6x Bikes (onew with the Banner), 1x Attack Bike, and 1x Landspeeder. The Squadron is deployed... 3x Bikes (one with Banner), 3x Bikes, 1x Attack bike, and 1x Landspeeder (so deployed as 4 different scoring units - at different locations over the table). Does the Ravenwig banner still effect each and every model in the 'Squadron', or only the unit of 3x bikes that includes the Banner bearer?

Book & page #'s would be appreciated in your replies.

Oh, and a really realy stupid question - Bike scout moves are up to 12 inches, yes?

Thanks

DF

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA



No, Ravenwing units that are split on deployment are separate units during the game.

The banner affects any unit within 12" of the banner so any split Ravenwing squad would have to be within 12" of the banner to benefit.

The banner rules are on page 45 and the Ravenwing combat squad rules (that explains they are separate units during the game) are on page 27.


And yes bike scout moves are indeed 12" (no turbo-boosting allowed per the codex).


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/03/06 08:27:58


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

yakface wrote:No, Ravenwing units that are split on deployment are separate units during the game.


They're seperate units, but part of the same squadron.

The standard's bonus applies to the squadron, not to a given unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/03/07 02:12:35


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

insaniak wrote:
yakface wrote:No, Ravenwing units that are split on deployment are separate units during the game.


They're seperate units, but part of the same squadron.

The standard's bonus applies to the squadron, not to a given unit.



You're right. I didn't read the rule closely enough. The morale re-roll is only for units within 12" of the banner but the Attack bonus is for the entire squadron and that certainly would apply regardless of whether they are split up or not.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

insaniak FTW

- G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

But why do fearless ones need to reroll for morale?

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in au
Horrific Howling Banshee





they dont; but your normal pleb troopers might appreciate the bonus...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: