Switch Theme:

Two of the same weapon automatically mean Twin Linked  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger



Athel Querque

I keep reading the Eldar Codex regarding War Walkers and their armament. I looked for the FAQ but can't find one on GW or on here.

It is confusing whether or not War Walker weapons are twin linked, or if you can select two of the same or two entirely different types of weapons.

With all due obsequience to Games Workshop and their intellectual property here are the direct quotes

From the fluff section page 44 "...the machine effortlessly stalking through terrain as it twin heavy weapons......"

From the army list section page 66 "The war walker is armed with two weapons from the following list:......."

NOWHERE is the word(s) "twin linked" used. Page 66 RAW indicates you can mix and match weapons (say, a shuriken cannon and a rocket launcher for example).
   
Made in us
Trollkin Champion




North Bay, California

You may take two of the same weapon. They are not twin-linked. No ambiguity.

-LE037

"Of course the people don't want war. But after all, it's the leaders of the country who determine the policy, and it's always a simple matter to drag the people along whether it's a democracy, a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism." -Hermann Goering (high ranking Nazi)

So it goes.

Support your LGS! Don’t buy online or from GW stores.  
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger



Athel Querque

Okay. Two of the same weapon - not a mix and match. Not twin linked - so I may have astounding results or none at all

Thanks
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin






you dont have to take the same weapon but you can and if you do it is NOT twin linked.
you can mix and match all you want.
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




Taking two of the same weapon may meen they count as twin linked but this is not neccesarilly so.

Usually it is stated in the unit info, army special rules or armylist entry if duplicates count as twin linked.

Tyrranids for example buying multiples of the same ranged weapon-symbiote count it as a twin linked weapon (I think the issue of getting 2 twin linked weapon symbiotes has been covered in an errata) as this is stated in the rules for nids.

A warwalker however can take two weapons of the same type and it will count as two separate weapons (yes you can thus have 2 starcannons allowing you 4 shots), likewise an ork deff dread can take multiples of the same weapon without it counting as a single twin linked weapon.

If there is a rule stating that we are wrong I am sure the person who has found it will be able to give a page reference in the BGB, if not then you will have to look at it codex by codex.

Stelek wrote:Dude, you cannot FNP MC CC attacks. I don't care how you "read" the rules. I even don't care if you are correct and GW says you can. lol
In short GW rulings are void!  
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch





Los Angeles

2 of the same weapon and twin linked weapons are different (and both possible). In the case of war walkers, each weapon they take is a seperate weapon and there is no twin linking possible. In other places (like most tyranid creatures and the eldar dreadnaught) there are specific rules for those units and/or weapons that state that if you take two of the same weapon it counts as a single twin linked weapon. This may be what is causing the confusion.

**** Phoenix ****

Threads should be like skirts: long enough to cover what's important but short enough to keep it interesting. 
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger



Athel Querque

Awesome.

I have read and discussed on other places and other people that were under the strong conviction that Eldar war walker had twin linked weapons and therefore they would not take them. So I appreciate you all clearing this up.

Thanks a lot.
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

No, the War Walker has NEVER had twin-linked weapons.
Any TWO heavy weapons, so 2x scatter lasers mean 8 shots.

The Wraithlord however, is subject to the 2 of the same HEAVY weapon are twin-linked rule, if it chooses to have 2 of the same HEAVY weapon, but the two flamers or shuricats aren't.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: