Switch Theme:

God Shackle Question:  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





NYC

I think the biggest mix ups folks are making is this. "Any number of Crypteks can be upgraded" means when I 1st spend the points to buy a cryptek how does he come? Obviously he comes with nothing but a staff of light and no title. He is just a simple, vanilla cryptek. So when the rule is referring to any number of "Cryptek", they are referencing the plain cryptek I just described. Permission is granted to any number of vanilla Cryptek in my royal court to be upgraded to a single harbinger type. Not that all 5 cryptek can be a despairtek, but that all 5 vanilla cryptek have a choice to become it's own unique harbinger for this particular court if you wanted, since there are 5 Harbinger types. I don't think this is an accident or coincidence in any way whatsoever. Once you are upgraded with a unique piece of wargear of any kind ( yes staves are included) from that harbinger entry you've selected, you now are classified as a "harbinger", in essence changing the definition of the model for purposes of the following rules.

The other mix up, is that statement " Whilst you can have any number of Harbingers of a specific type". This piece is slightly ambiguous. But if I fall back on the information I just read, I can put it I to context. I know that I can have more than 1 RC. If 5th edition rules were similar to today's Battleforged design, then technically I can have any number of Harbingers as long as I have enough points to buy Overlord with compulsory troops, to provided RC's from multiple detachments. That statement is just a reminder of this fact, so you don't limit yourself in case you have multiple RCs.

The only way to have ever purchased a cryptek or its harbinger incarnation is if you have a Royal court. Did GW ever conceive another way to have crypteks in your army, before Exterminus? No. There was no such thing as a cryptek or harbinger without a court, for purposes of adding one to your army list( excluding ICs). So you can't just make up rules about a creature that did not exist during 5th edition.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/27 20:05:31


**Queens 40k Fight Club NYC**

http://www.meetup.com/Queens-FC/ 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

So, this doesn't seem to be going anywhere at this point.

Moving on.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: