Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/04 21:57:37
Subject: Assaulting and Open-topped vehicles
|
 |
Crafty Bray Shaman
|
This is something that my group and I have run into and we're not quite sure about. Are passengers transported in open topped vehicles able to assault directly out of their vehicle in the turn it moves. For instance, and Ork Trukk with a squad of boyz moves within 6 inches of an enemy unit/vehicle. If before movement the unit or boyz declared their charge, then moved in their vehicle (shooting commences and ends etc.), finally the boyz charge the target unit/vehicle, from inside their open topped transport.
Is this possible?
|
Jean-luke Pee-card, of thee YOU ES ES Enter-prize
Make it so!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/04 22:22:13
Subject: Assaulting and Open-topped vehicles
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
No.
Disembarking happens in the Movement phase. The only exception is a forced disembark from enemy shooting.
No option is given to disembark in the Assault phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/04/04 22:24:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/04 22:25:58
Subject: Re:Assaulting and Open-topped vehicles
|
 |
Crafty Bray Shaman
|
thanks you insaniak, that answers my question!
|
Jean-luke Pee-card, of thee YOU ES ES Enter-prize
Make it so!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/04 23:36:29
Subject: Assaulting and Open-topped vehicles
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Insaniak has it right. The bonus of the open toped transport, however, is that if the unit in it disembarks after the transport moved (still in the movement phase) then the troops that disembarked are still allowed to assault in the assault phase. In normal transports, units that disembark after the transport moved are not allowed to assault in the assault phase.
|
**** Phoenix ****
Threads should be like skirts: long enough to cover what's important but short enough to keep it interesting. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/05 07:38:27
Subject: Assaulting and Open-topped vehicles
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
also remember that models cannot get within 1" of an enemy model unless they are legally initiating an assault. This means that a surrounded open topped transport cannot disembark troops until it moves away from enemy models.
|
Epic Fail |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/08 15:52:53
Subject: Assaulting and Open-topped vehicles
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
This also means that (as in the example) Boyz in an ork Trukk which is destroyed in its own movement phase can still hop out and assault. This can sometimes allow a 24" move followed by an assault.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/08 17:00:09
Subject: Assaulting and Open-topped vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Long Beach, CA
|
wait, I dont think you can move 24" and then assault. I believe its limited to 12" then assault for open topped vehicles and/or land raiders.
|
"Do NOT ask me if you can fire the squad you forgot to shoot once we are in the assault phase, EVER!!!"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/08 17:09:24
Subject: Assaulting and Open-topped vehicles
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
Nope. The rules say that you can't exit a vehicle if it moves more than 12". They go on to say that you can't assault if a vehicle moved, unless it is open topped.
The catch is that vehicles can, under certain circumstances, be forced to disembark their passengers after moving more than 12". For example, a vehicle killed in a death-or-glory or one that rolls two 1's on a difficult terrain roll.
With all other armies, this would cause entanglement and the point would be moot. But Orks are never entangled when the Trukk is destroyed. If they are not pinned, then they can assault because they disembarked from an open topped vehicle. I've seen this nasty trick done a few times already and it is hilarious when it works...and very Orky.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 05:54:50
Subject: Assaulting and Open-topped vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Long Beach, CA
|
Yeah I use it all the time. It works great.
|
"Do NOT ask me if you can fire the squad you forgot to shoot once we are in the assault phase, EVER!!!"
|
|
 |
 |
|