Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/08 17:30:48
Subject: [Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Ruthless Rafkin
|
The plague tower can transport 30 models, which can disembark and assault on the same turn.
A dread, IIRC, takes up 10 models worth of capacity if it's transported. The Tower's rules make no stipulation on the models which can can cannot be tranported.
So, is it legal to transport the dreads in such a way, and how would the "crazed" rule affect a transported dread?
|
-Loki- wrote:
40k is about slamming two slegdehammers together and hoping the other breaks first. Malifaux is about fighting with scalpels trying to hit select areas and hoping you connect more. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/08 18:23:25
Subject: [Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The tower is a super-heavy transport so you use the chart in the back of the Apoc book (p198) to determine how much space models take up in it.
You are correct in remembering that a Dread counts as 10 models for this purpose.
As for the 'crazed' rule, per the rulebook FAQ embarked models are not on the table and therefore you would not roll for the Dreadnought while it is embarked.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/08 18:28:52
Subject: [Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
"Only infantry may embark in transports unless the transporting vehicle's rules specify otherwise (62, BGB)."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/08 18:44:21
Subject: [Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Imriel: See Yak's statement. Superheavies can transport anything not superheavy unless they say otherwise.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 01:38:20
Subject: Re:[Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
But can dreadnoughts fire out of the Fireports? If they can, how many weapons may they fire? If they can fire, why can't they fire frenzy?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 02:40:39
Subject: [Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos
|
genius.
|
Renegade Guardsmen |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 02:49:30
Subject: Re:[Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
cuda1179 wrote:But can dreadnoughts fire out of the Fireports?
As per the other thread, no.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 02:59:50
Subject: Re:[Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Well, my point still stands a little bit. Models that aren't "on" the board can still do things, like fire from transports, or be possessed by a greater deamon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 03:00:50
Subject: [Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
And even if you wanted to make a house rule that Dreadnoughts could fire from a super-heavy, you still wouldn't roll for the Dreadnought because, right or wrong GW ruled in the rulebook FAQ that embarked models don't get to use their special rules with the sole exception of psychic powers that act as shooting weapons.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 05:31:07
Subject: Re:[Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Where is it stated that only infantry my fire from fire points? Not that I'm challenging you, I can only find referance to "models". The Apoc. Book does state that all embarked models can fire out of an open topped transport, so I guess killa cans can fire from a Battlefortess.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 05:41:17
Subject: Re:[Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
cuda1179 wrote:Where is it stated that only infantry my fire from fire points?
It's not stated.
It's simply the only option given by the rules. The section in the rulebook that deals with firing from a Transport is entitled 'Infantry Firing From Vehicles'
There is no section that provides rules for any other type of model to fire from a transport.
. The Apoc. Book does state that all embarked models can fire out of an open topped transport,
Got a reference? I can't find any such rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 05:45:44
Subject: Re:[Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
The Skullhammer Battlefortress has rules that state that any embarked model may fire.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 07:18:45
Subject: [Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Nope, not seeing it.
It says that it counts as open-topped for the purposes of embarked models.
No mention of any embarked model being able to fire.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 09:51:52
Subject: [Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
Wait, wait, people play Apoc?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/09 11:04:50
Subject: Re:[Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Whoops, I retract my previous statement. I was wrong.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/19 04:24:28
Subject: Re:[Apoc] Plague Tower and Dreadnoughts
|
 |
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher
Castle Clarkenstein
|
We're talking about Apocalypse. Make a house rule, take a vote, guy who owns the basement your in makes the rules, etc etc. Whatever sounds good, use it.
At my shops, the dreadnaught can fire from a port, but doesn't take firefrenzy tests. Mainly because the dread is pissing his pants and behaving while inside of a MUCH BIGGER chaos daemon engine.
We also made a new house rule for the new daemon codex: A great unclean one and plaugebearers that are placed inside of a Plaugetower at the start of the game do not need to deepstrike. In the new codex, the whole army starts off the table. Yet the plauge tower talks about a GUO leading a charging horde when the PT unloads. It' sounds cool, so we are allowing it. Another rule reguarding Plauge towers is that only models with the mark of nurgle, or nurgle daemons can use it as transport. Anything dies from the hideous stench and infectious diseases.)
|
....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
|
|
 |
 |
|