| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/17 19:32:44
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
(Unfortunately, my local GW has *yet* to get in a shipment of VC Army Books, so this is basically from memory but that shouldn't be too problematic)
The scenario:
-> Manfred (the more powerful version) chooses the Arcane Item that allows him to sacrifice a wound during the magic phase to gain an extra power dice for that phase.
-> I buy Manfred a Nightmare mount and put him in a unit of Black Knights.
-> I buy an Army Standard Bearer dude, give him a Nightmare, the banner that gives his unit regeneration, and put him in the same unit of Black Knights.
-> Can Manfred make a regeneration roll on his wounds he sacrifices to his Arcane Item (whose name I forgot) during the magic phase?
|
And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/17 20:16:18
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
No, if you are taking a save it means you are not sacrificing a wound or in effect not taking the wound. If you don't take the wound you don't get the power dice. So I guess you could roll a regen, but then you wouldn't get the extra power dice since it requires a wound to have been suffered.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/17 22:48:56
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
...something seems fishy about your reasoning...
|
And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/17 23:12:32
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Sacrifice means you willingly give up something. If you make a save you are obviously not willingly giving up the wound, you are resisting.
Think of it like buying something. If you pay for something and then take back the money you gave the clerk did you really pay for it? No, so if you don't lose the wound it is like you aren't paying for the power die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/17 23:26:43
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
But what if I bash the clerk over the head and take it when he's not looking, and leave a penny?
Did I pay for it? Or did I just sacrifice the clerk?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/17 23:54:40
Subject: Re:Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Evasive Eshin Assassin
|
without actually having the book in front of me id say yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/18 01:28:51
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
Well I kind of moved near Toronto, actually.
|
how does regeneration work. Is it a third save after armour saves and ward saves? I thought it worked like Carnifex regeneration, you roll at the beginning of each turn.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/18 01:46:39
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It's a Ward Save taken after regular Armor and Ward Saves, so yes, a 3rd save.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/18 01:48:27
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
Well I kind of moved near Toronto, actually.
|
then I would say no.
but nice try  .
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/18 04:08:23
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
40kenthus
|
No, there is no roll to hit or wound so no saves of any kind.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/04/18 04:09:15
Only now do I realize how much I prefer Pete Haines' "misprints" to Gav Thorpe's "brainfarts." :Abadabadoobaddon |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/18 04:41:18
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I was under the impression that regeneration saves are special in that they can be taken out of context in certain areas. Granted I'm still very noobish to a lot of the Fantasy rules and semantics, but I remember an example- an Undead unit gets beaten in combat and loses models due to outnumbering and it's own Undead special rule- if this unit has regeneration, it is allowed to make a regeneration save on these wounds (however no armor save [and I'm pretty sure no ward either]).
Are there other situations where Regeneration would apply out of context of the "wound roll" scenario?
|
And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/18 05:24:45
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Only when the rule specifies, which the Undead one does.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/18 07:23:42
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I see. Okay!
|
And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/18 14:21:26
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
Dice Monkey wrote:No, there is no roll to hit or wound so no saves of any kind.
My reasoning as well.
Mr. Bombadidaloo wrote:I was under the impression that regeneration saves are special in that they can be taken out of context in certain areas. Granted I'm still very noobish to a lot of the Fantasy rules and semantics, but I remember an example- an Undead unit gets beaten in combat and loses models due to outnumbering and it's own Undead special rule- if this unit has regeneration, it is allowed to make a regeneration save on these wounds (however no armor save [and I'm pretty sure no ward either]).
Such an f-ed up rule ... :S
- Salvage
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/19 06:04:04
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Deadly Tomb Guard
Payson Utah, USA
|
yeah, kinda messed up. ok, I got beaten in combat, so I crumble, but I can regen!! ha ha, you can't break me, and I will never be destroyed!!!!
|
I am a Utah man sir, I live across the green, our gang is the jolliest that you have ever seen, Our co-eds are the fairest, ans each one's a shining star, our yell you'l hear it ringing through the mountains near and far.
Who am I sir? a UTAH MAN am I. A UTAH MAN sir, I will be till I die.
KI-YI
Were up to snuff, we never bluff were game for any fuss, no other gang of college men dare meet us in the MUSS. So fill your lungs and sing it out and shout it to the sky, we'll fight for dear old Crimson for a UTAH MAN AM I!!
GO UTES!!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/19 15:03:41
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
"...unless you've got a box of matches! You haven't though, right? *gulp*"
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2008/04/19 15:07:39
And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/21 12:43:57
Subject: Manfred The Wound Machine
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Netherlands
|
I thrink it'll not be allowed, but ok.
Reading the rull of regeneration, it acts like a third save, but it isn't one. If you use the steel soul (if i remember correctly) spell, let a charecter lose one wound. It may not take any saves, but is is allowed to try to regenerate that wound... So i'm not totally sure about this.
Grtz. Pim
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|