| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/06 01:08:16
Subject: Necrons yet again....
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Ok, there must have been some confusion to the FAQ for Adepticon. One of my gaming buddies insists that this was addressed in that FAQ, but i cant find it. Any help is appreciated.
Unit A of Necron Warriors is knocked down completely in the opps shooting phase.
Unit B of Necron Warriors is nearby, and only 2 models are knocked down.
Unit B of Necron Warriors makes no WBB rolls at the start of the next turn.
Unit A makes 2 of 6 WBB rolls at the start of the next turn.
Necron player pulls the Necron lord, and unit B through the Monolith.
My opinion here;
Unit B Necron Warriors that failed their WBB rolls are allowed to reroll them.
What is left of Unit A Necron Warriors, is removed from play as casualties.
What happened, and my buddies opinion;
Unit B Necron warriors is pulled through Monolith with Lord.
Unit A Necron warriors are also pulled through Monolith, and any rerolls that are made join Unit B. The rest are removed.
Now, I cant find anything that says Unit A would be pulled through the portal ALONG with Unit B. I cant find anything saying the ones that failed to WBB and join Unit B, "counted" as part of Unit B anyway.
Any clarity here? Or am I just overthinking it, my friend is an idjot, and I'm right?
Clay
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/06 02:32:40
Subject: Necrons yet again....
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Don't know if it's in the Adepticon FAQ or not, but doesn't need to be. Only the unit going through the portal gets a second chance at WBB. The downed models of Unit A are NOT part of Unit B until after they make a WBB, so they don't go through the portal with unit B. Ergo, downed models from unti A do not get a second WBB roll.
Basically, you're right, and he's an idjit.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/06 02:34:41
Subject: Necrons yet again....
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
There is no longer a "Unit A" as any downed Necrons that get back up automatically join the nearest like unit.
Unit A's Necrons that stood up are now "unit B".
There are no longer any Unit A models left as once the WBB rolls are made for that Unit, any that don't stand up are removed from play.
The rule wording from the monolith reads "any models in the unit that, although eligible to self-repair, failed their WBB roll at the start of the turn and were removed, may reroll once as they emerge..."
Emphasis mine.
You pull unit B through, not unit A. Since all of unit A has at that point been removed from play, the only rerolls to be made are those strictly from unit B that were failed at the beginning of the turn.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/06 02:37:08
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/06 02:45:24
Subject: Necrons yet again....
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
This is addressed by the Adepticon FAQ.
NEC.13.01 & NEC.21.02 to be exact.
Necrons downed Necrons are "associated" (a term made up for the FAQ) with the unit they were part of until they get back up and join another Necron unit.
When a Monolith teleports a unit, you get to re-roll the failed WBB rolls for the downed models "associated" with the unit.
In your example, when unit A is completely downed, that unit essentially ceases to exist. Any models that get back up would have to join unit B. When a Monolith teleports Unit B only the downed models "associated" (those who were part of the unit before being downed) would get pulled through the portal and get the re-roll.
So, you were right and your friends were wrong.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/06 16:22:00
Subject: Necrons yet again....
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Kind of in the same vein, if a squad of necrons diesand has a tomb spider in range, and another Necron squad is on the otherside of the board, if the warriors get back up, are they in the long way off unit, in which case unit coherency is way out of order, or does somehting else happen? it just seems a pain to have to run across the board to join another unit...
|
"To be truely evil you must acknowledge the right thing to do in a situation, and then do completely the oposite" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/06 21:24:58
Subject: Necrons yet again....
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
Necrons that get back up don't just simply stand up where they were at, you place them within 2" of the nearest unit of the same type, so they'd warp across the board to be within coherency of the other unit the moment they pass their We'll Be Back.
Also note this rule allows cheesy tactics such as removing models from the back of a squad, and then putting them in the front when they stand back up, to get that extra bit closer to shooting range or the objective.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 16:10:03
Subject: Necrons yet again....
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
hmmm, I might try that putting things infront idea
|
"To be truely evil you must acknowledge the right thing to do in a situation, and then do completely the oposite" |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|