Switch Theme:

how do gun batteries work?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Norfolk, Va

so i've never really boned up on my battery rules, because i've never played with or against them. Tell me if i'm correct in my iterpretations of the rules.

I have a battery of 3 grot lobbaz each gun has two grots

to shoot i guess the range up to 48" lets say i guess the target is 36" away, i then measure from the gun 36" and put the template down. Then i scatter it d6 inchs if i can see it or 2d6 if i can't. The rest of the guns just scatter so they are touching the first templet.

they do not have to shoot at the closest target and can shoot at things they can't see.

If someone shoots at the guns and i take casualties i take the grots like i would take any other models from a squad. It requiers two grots to operate a gun so if i loose two a gun cannot shoot anymore.

The guns themselves cannot be targeted or destroyed, except through a sweeping advance or any other circumstance that would normally wipe a unit out.

Is this all correct?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


You are quite off.

You need to read the Artillery rules on page 56 of the rulebook.

Plus, the Lobba is a barrage weapon and the others are not, so how you 'hit' with a big gun depends on which one you're talking about.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch





Los Angeles

They took out the actualy guessing of ranges when they wrote 4th edition. You pick a target now and then see if its in range and scatter if necessary. Take a look at the page Yak mentioned, its all there.

**** Phoenix ****

Threads should be like skirts: long enough to cover what's important but short enough to keep it interesting. 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Norfolk, Va

ok after reading the entry on how to shoot them on page 31 my only question is why is the ork lobba denoted as G48"?
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Because that "G" denotes them as Barrage weapons. A bit of legacy nomenclature.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/09 21:00:11


 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Norfolk, Va

Because that "G" denotes them as Barrage weapons. A bit of legacy nomenclature.


Oh! How intuitive!
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Yeah, that is the problem with legacy nomenclature, the originally intuitive reasons for using it are lost...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: