| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/20 20:36:44
Subject: Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
I have the distinct feeling this has probably been addressed before, but I have been unable to find a clear answer.
This came up in a game I played the other night. My Thousand Sons were beating on some Necrons and it finally came down the my Sorcerer and his Lord. Without going into the details, the question is, does a Resurrection Orb still allow a WWB attempt against a Force Weapon's "killed outright"?
My opponent argument:
1) the Orb's entry that said "may attempt...even if...damaged by weaponry that causes instant death or close combat weapons that allow no Armour save".
a) He said that since "instant death isn't capitalized, its not exactly referring to the Strength v Toughness Instant Death rule in the BGB.
b) That the "killed outright" rule for Force Weapon doesn't allow armor saves and is a close combat weapon and thus fit the bill too.
Again, sorry if this has all been done before, but a clear answer would be most welcome.
|
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2008/05/20 21:41:09
Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/20 21:37:39
Subject: Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
"Killed Outright", if I'm not mistaken, is defined as removing all your wounds. The res orb never stops anyone or anything from losing all their wounds to a single hit, it just allows them to get a "we'll be back" roll afterwards (where they normaly wouldn't without the orb). So there really is no conflict there. The force weapon would reduce whatever it hit to 0 wounds and if the res orb is in range and the model has the "we'll be back" rule, they will get a roll later on.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/20 21:38:47
**** Phoenix ****
Threads should be like skirts: long enough to cover what's important but short enough to keep it interesting. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/20 21:39:58
Subject: Re:Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
Allow me to clarify. My question is, if a Necron Lord with a Res Orb is killed by a Force Weapon's psychic attack and is "killed outright", is he allowed to attempt a WWB?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/20 21:40:15
Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/20 21:43:39
Subject: Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
You are only disallowed to make your WWB if you are killed by a HtH weapon that allows no armor saves, or if you suffer Instant Death. As yet, the Force Weapon does not inflict Instead Death, so that has no effect on WWB even if he Didn't have the orb. The power weapon aspect on the other hand would have prevented it if he did not have the orb.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/20 21:53:24
Subject: Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Currently, force weapons do not cause ID, they kill outright, and therefore protections against ID do not work against them.
|
Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."
For Hearth and Home! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/20 22:05:21
Subject: Re:Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
I appreciate the responses and while they provide a great deal of insight on the Instant Death portion of the rule, the "kills outright" portion remains elusive.
I suppose it boils down to my clarification question. Can a Necron attempt a WWB if it was killed by a Force Weapon's Psychic attack? Please do not confuse this with the Power Weapon portion of the weapon, but I'm only concerned with the "kills outright" part.
|
Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/21 01:31:29
Subject: Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
I wouldn't have thought "instant death" would need to be capitalised for it to refer to the game term of the same name.
I recall seeing plenty of examples in rulebooks and codices where the word "wound" isn't capitalised - does that mean it's something other than the term as defined in the Rulebook? The new Daemon codex fails to capitalise a number of terms ("assault/defensive grenades," "rending," etc), so it's shaky ground your opponent is basing his argument on.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/21 04:11:52
Subject: Re:Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DaBoss wrote:I appreciate the responses and while they provide a great deal of insight on the Instant Death portion of the rule, the "kills outright" portion remains elusive.
I suppose it boils down to my clarification question. Can a Necron attempt a WWB if it was killed by a Force Weapon's Psychic attack? Please do not confuse this with the Power Weapon portion of the weapon, but I'm only concerned with the "kills outright" part.
"A Necron cannot self-repair if it was destroyed by a close combat weapon that allows no Armor save or any weapon whose Strength is twice the Toughness of the Necron concerned (13, C:N)."
An attack that "kills outright" by a means other then the Inta-Death rule doesn't negate WWB rolls.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/21 04:12:39
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/21 05:02:35
Subject: Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"Instant Death" and having a model be "killed outright" (by such things as a force weapon or a double '6' result on a Shokk Attack Gun, for example) are two different things, sadly.
This is even highlighted in the Apocalypse rules for Gargantuan creatures in which GCs are immune to "instant death" but still suffer D6 wounds (or was it D3? Don't have the book on me right now) from weapons that "kill them outright" (and a force weapon is listed as an example).
Anyway, the answer is that the Rez Orb does allow a WBB save in this situation.
To go off on a quick tangent, this was all created by GW's stupid need to create an instant death rule and then go and make half the multi-wound models in the game ignore the rule.
Then they still want some rules to be able to kill models outright (the point of instant death) so then they have unintentionally created two rules that do essentially the same thing but have made it very difficult to tell when these rules are used and when they aren't used.
IMHO, all weapons that kill models outright should just be classed as "instant death" weapons. And models that are immune to instant death should suffer D3 wounds instead of being killed outright when wounded by such a weapon.
That would make everything so much more simple and would still give instant death weapons a bit more 'punch' against models that are immune to it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/21 08:07:28
Subject: Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yakface your post is a little confusing. you stated that a) instant death and "killed outright" are two different things and b) the rez orb will allow a WBB from "killed outright" weapons. a does not seem to lead to b.
There's really only 2 considerations here 1: are instant death and being killed outright separate rules? and 2: if they are separate- does the res orb rule state specifically that it allows a WBB roll against weapons that kill outright?
of course I don't own a necron codex so I can't check myself.
|
My armies:
, , , and a little and now VC
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/21 08:34:56
Subject: Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Wraithlordmechanic wrote:Yakface your post is a little confusing. you stated that a) instant death and "killed outright" are two different things and b) the rez orb will allow a WBB from "killed outright" weapons. a does not seem to lead to b.
There's really only 2 considerations here 1: are instant death and being killed outright separate rules? and 2: if they are separate- does the res orb rule state specifically that it allows a WBB roll against weapons that kill outright?
of course I don't own a necron codex so I can't check myself.
Sorry, you are right it is a bit confusing. The WBB rules specify that the ability can be used anytime the model is removed as a casualty except for a few exceptions (an instant death weapon and/or a CC weapon that ignore armor saves). Those exceptions are removed for a Lord who is carrying a Rez Orb.
That means a Lord with a Rez Orb will always get a WBB roll unless he is killed by something that specifically states WBB cannot be used to save him (like being rundown in a sweeping advance, for example).
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/21 10:54:51
Subject: Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
The long and short of it is thus: Force weapons do not inflict instant death, thus they do not negate WBB.
The only issue I could see arising here is in the case of no rez orb, in which case it could be argued that since the force weapon is a power weapon and no saves are allowed against the multiple wounds caused by it's ability it is on this note that it would deny WBB.
|
Epic Fail |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/21 11:06:11
Subject: Force Weapons and Res Orb, sorry if its been done before
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Way to read the whole thread before posting, Dakkalad. The interaction between "killed outright" and the WBB rule with a Res Orb is exactly what is being discussed: Can a Necron attempt a WWB if it was killed by a Force Weapon's Psychic attack? Please do not confuse this with the Power Weapon portion of the weapon, but I'm only concerned with the "kills outright" part.
|
Wehrkind wrote:Sounds like a lot, but with a little practice I can do ~7-8 girls in 2-3 hours. Probably less if the cat and wife didn't want attention in that time. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|