Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/28 01:12:14
Subject: Confused about poisoned weapons
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
|
Regarding how the rulebook and codecies say that poisoned weapons, and how they always wound on a 4+/2+, is that for targets who would normally be harmed on a lower roll.
|
People are like dice, a certain Frenchman said that. You throw yourself in the direction of your own choosing. People are free because they can do that. Everyone's circumstances are different, but no matter how small the choice, at the very least, you can throw yourself. It's not chance or fate. It's the choice you made. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/28 01:44:17
Subject: Confused about poisoned weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The weapon specifies whether it always wounds on a 4+ or whether it always wounds on a 2+.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/28 02:39:45
Subject: Confused about poisoned weapons
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
I think he means that if you had a str 5 poisoned weapon against a t4 model, would you need a 3+ to wound (as per the wound chart) or a 4+ to wound (as per the poisoned weapon)?
RAW seems to be that it's always 4+ (or 2+ if you're special), but it seems very strange that Typhus would be forced to wound Grots on a 4+.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/28 03:46:03
Subject: Confused about poisoned weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Typhus doesn't have to use Manreaper's special close combat attacks, and he can just attack as normal (and thus get the 2+ to wound the Gretchin).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/28 05:47:20
Subject: Confused about poisoned weapons
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
|
I think Typhus is an exception, I'll check the errata by GW. I hope that the rules are changed in 5th... a massive chainsword coated in poison would do just as much raw damage as a massive clean chainsword.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/28 05:48:03
People are like dice, a certain Frenchman said that. You throw yourself in the direction of your own choosing. People are free because they can do that. Everyone's circumstances are different, but no matter how small the choice, at the very least, you can throw yourself. It's not chance or fate. It's the choice you made. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/28 05:47:27
Subject: Confused about poisoned weapons
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
|
Edit: Accidental double post.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/28 05:48:46
People are like dice, a certain Frenchman said that. You throw yourself in the direction of your own choosing. People are free because they can do that. Everyone's circumstances are different, but no matter how small the choice, at the very least, you can throw yourself. It's not chance or fate. It's the choice you made. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/28 05:51:06
Subject: Confused about poisoned weapons
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine
|
I think the second paragraph on page 46 of the rules answers this. You don't have to use your special close combat attacks. You can use the unpoisoned side of your blade or turn off your power sword or whack em with the back of your shurican pistol instead of using your harlequins kiss or whatever, as far as I can tell.
|
'12 Tournament Record: 98-0-0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/28 06:35:33
Subject: Confused about poisoned weapons
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
lambadomy is correct. No model is required to use a special close combat attack and may always choose to strike at their base Initiative and Strength.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/28 11:03:40
Subject: Re:Confused about poisoned weapons
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
If memory serves they resolve this in 5th edition. In that book if you would wound on less than the required roll-- eg a s S4 model attcaking a T3 one, then you roll against the lower value and get a reroll.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
|