| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/30 23:07:13
Subject: TK Tomb Scorpion LOS question
|
 |
Violent Enforcer
|
I recently played a TK player who claimed that Tomb Scorpions had 360 line of sight. While I doubt he would intentionally lie to me, this seems kinda iffy to me, because I always thought only skirmishers and single characters have that. Obviously, they're not skirmisher and I would assume that they don't count as characters, so that means they'd move like monsters would.. right? Or do they have something special I don't know about?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/31 01:24:28
=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ:80-S++G+M-B--I+Pwhfb06#+D++A+++/hWD-R+++T(T)DM++
======End Dakka Geek Code======
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/31 02:22:02
Subject: Re:TK Tomb Scorpion LOS question
|
 |
Flameguard
Scottsdale, AZ
|
As far as I know, Tomb Scorpions have to obey line of sight. They'd be monsters (not characters) since they have a unit strength of more than one. And as per the monster rules (pg. 58 in the BRB) "Each monster is, in effect, a unit of one model and it has a front (used to determine it's arc of sight as normal), flanks and rear as normal."
Also, flipping through a TK army book I see absolutely no rules that would allow them 360 line of sight. The only rules I see listed for them are:
Undead Construct (basically they always count as being within 12" of a battle standard and 5+ armor save)
Poison Attacks (self explanatory)
Killing Blow (also self explanatory)
Magic Resistance 1 (as above :p)
|
My center is giving way, my right is in retreat; situation excellent. I shall attack.
My site - My models |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/31 04:00:25
Subject: TK Tomb Scorpion LOS question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And don't forget it came from below.
But no, scorpions don't have 360 LoS.
|
He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/31 05:57:12
Subject: TK Tomb Scorpion LOS question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
Yes a few morons at the FLGS have tried this nonsense.
Monsters see forward 90 degrees. That's all they can see.
Just because it's a single model on a base by itself does not grant it character or skirmishing status.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/31 06:18:17
Subject: TK Tomb Scorpion LOS question
|
 |
Violent Enforcer
|
I didn't think so, but the guy I played has been playing for years and has several armies. I figured at the time that he must know the rules better. Actually, I've found myself in a better position as far as knowing the rules goes for the simple fact that this is the only edition's rules I know. Older players seem to mixed the old with the new when it comes to how rules go...
|
=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ:80-S++G+M-B--I+Pwhfb06#+D++A+++/hWD-R+++T(T)DM++
======End Dakka Geek Code======
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/06/01 21:34:15
Subject: TK Tomb Scorpion LOS question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
themandudeperson wrote:I didn't think so, but the guy I played has been playing for years and has several armies. I figured at the time that he must know the rules better. Actually, I've found myself in a better position as far as knowing the rules goes for the simple fact that this is the only edition's rules I know. Older players seem to mixed the old with the new when it comes to how rules go...
Sadly I do this myself.
GW has many editions, not one of which is clear.
The current Fantasy rules come very very close though!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/06/03 22:18:39
Subject: TK Tomb Scorpion LOS question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Cherry Hill, NJ
|
Any model by itself on a 20mm or 25mm base or in a skirmishing unit (Regradless of Base Size) can see 360. Any model not part of a skirmishing unit or US1 will only see in its front 90. This does include characters that are not US 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|