Switch Theme:

CSM spawn in 5th  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




three questions
    <1> Can spawn Run in 5th?
    <2> Do they count as 1 model in close combat?
    <3> Would they be worth the points if you had six of them?

- hoping to flood the field with separate targets...
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

1) As beasts, they currently fleet. I assume beasts will keep this ability in 5th.
2) I have no idea. If monstrous creatures are 1, I assume so are spawn.
3) Probably not.
4) Recall that you must field them in the fewest squads possible, so you aren't going to flood the field with as many targets as you think. 6 spawn = 2 squads of 3 (and 240 points)

- Salvage

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/06/10 18:26:44


KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Los Angeles

I have never seen spawn actually played, so I can only mathhammer it, which does not always necessarily add up to actual gameplay.

I'd say give it a go and see how you like them.


Not enough 殺氣 ( sorry i have to apologize i honestly dunno how to say this in english ... ) "kill aura" xD -Lunahound 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut







Sushicaddy wrote:I have never seen spawn actually played, so I can only mathhammer it, which does not always necessarily add up to actual gameplay.

I'd say give it a go and see how you like them.


Yeah, I agree. The tricky thing with them is that they are very random, and easy to kill thanks to the lack of a save. They are pretty pricey for what you get in my opinion. Try them out as proxies, that is what I say.

Hobby Articles On My Site: CLICK HERE

Little Green Monsters : xenite.wordpress.com

 
   
Made in se
Dakka Veteran




They are junk, with all that randomness and lack of save for 40 pts. There is a reason you never seen them around.
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation




Hive Fleet Kraken

If spawn were half the point cost and not slow and purposeful (slow beasts?) and had a armour save, even like 5+ i would take them. But they are too expensive, 1 spawn or a marine with a lascannon (worth 35pts)

 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

To quote Jervis from GD Balti 2007: "They're totally random!"

20 points would make for an interesting option. 40 points ... not so much.

- Salvage

KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Belphegor wrote:three questions
    <1> Can spawn Run in 5th?
    <2> Do they count as 1 model in close combat?

- hoping to flood the field with separate targets...



1) Yes. All non-vehicle models (and walkers too) can run in v5, so yes Spawn can run. In addition since they are beasts they are 'fleet' and may therefore run and charge in the same turn.

2) In v5 the only thing that matters in combat resolution is how many wounds you caused in combat, so it does not matter how many models something counts as anymore.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

So...you roll 2D6. Pick the highest. This is your 'move'.
You roll D6. This is your 'fleet'.
Roll 2D6. Pick the highest. This is your 'assault'.

So it can be from 3" to 18".

Yes, really.

Utterly useless except when you want to contest the objective on your side of the board with a 40 point unit that you don't think will be picked off and you don't have much else to buy for 40 points.

Like say two cult marines...

Give them to your friends who play fantasy. They aren't bad in fantasy, still random but at least the randomness can be used to your advantage...

   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran




Actually, as Beasts and Slow and Purposeful, they would assault 2D6 pick the highest, then multiply by two.

So move ~4", fleet ~3", then assault ~8" if you're in range.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Ok, next question in the quest to attempt to shine up these fecal 40pt (but $ cheap) models....

   <> Can you transport them in a land raider?
         I didn't see anything preventing them in their entry or land raider's entry or the beast's entry

   <> If they can be mounted in a land raider, do they count as one model or two?

   <> Does 5th allow more than one unit in a transport?
I was wondering about because of the case of the Imperial Gorgon. It can carry 50 models...
4th says you can only carry one unit in a transport....
I don't believe guard has any squads that are deployed as a single unit of 50.
- this pertains to the transport of multiple units of spawn in a single land raider

--- looking for a way to counter their not so good rando-move
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Oh right, they would.

Testomonial to me never seeing one actually assault.

Or make it onto the table.

Who knows, maybe they are an awesome unit that's just misunderstood.

I can see it now, an entire army of them...

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Belphegor wrote:Ok, next question in the quest to attempt to shine up these fecal 40pt (but $ cheap) models....

   <> Can you transport them in a land raider?
         I didn't see anything preventing them in their entry or land raider's entry or the beast's entry

   <> If they can be mounted in a land raider, do they count as one model or two?

   <> Does 5th allow more than one unit in a transport?
I was wondering about because of the case of the Imperial Gorgon. It can carry 50 models...
4th says you can only carry one unit in a transport....
I don't believe guard has any squads that are deployed as a single unit of 50.
- this pertains to the transport of multiple units of spawn in a single land raider

--- looking for a way to counter their not so good rando-move



Only infantry can embark on a transport unless the transport specifies otherwise. So in general, Spawn could not embark on most vehicles as they are beasts.

v5 Allows dedicated transports to carry different units than they one they are purchased for (although not at the start of the game), but unless the transport specifies otherwise it is still one unit per transport vehicle.


The Gorgon is a super-heavy transport and therefore has its own special rules. As dictated in the Apocalypse rules, super-heavy transports can carry multiple units and non-infantry models (see the Apocalypse rules on super-heavy transports for full details).

However, you would need to be using the Apocalypse rules in your games in order to accomplish mounting Spawn in a Gorgon.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Thanks for the info and insight.
I just wanted to be sure that I wasn't missing a spot that i might be able to use them.
Oh well, I guess I'll keep a couple unpacked for Gift of Chaos.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: