Switch Theme:

Skulltaker question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Skulltaker's ability 'Skulls for the Skull Throne!' make his close combat attacks rending on rolls of 4+ instead of 6. If the Daemon Codex was written with 5th in mind wouldn't this change the rending abiility for Skulltaker only? I heard the new rending ability grants an autowound with no save on a roll of 6 to wound, but Skulltakers special ability sys his attacks are rending on a roll of 4+. This would seem to make more sense if rending worked that you roll to hit and any 6's would be a wound with no save if you then roll to wound successfully (much like the Eldar Rangers ability).

Would this make Skulltaker an absolute beast in combat against lone models? Attack a Wraithlord and chop off it's head (instant death) on any attack roll of 4+. Do the same to a slew of TMC's, Greater Daemons, etc... and because of the wording would this still translate into 5th edition?

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Cherry Hill, NJ

Yes the wording does indicate that he will Rend on rolls to Wound of 4+.

This will not be that effective against TMCs as Synapse prevents ID.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

He's designed to kill multiple wound models, both in 40k and in Fantasy.

However, some rules prevent him from always doing this.

Moreso in 40k than in Fantasy, as there are alot more targets in Fantasy and few have protection from KB.

   
Made in us
Dominar






Negativemoney wrote:Yes the wording does indicate that he will Rend on rolls to Wound of 4+.

This will not be that effective against TMCs as Synapse prevents ID.


It does not, however, prevent the wound. Riding a khornate chariot he's still a 4-wound model with 5 attacks. He'll be very good at "mopping up" MCs with only a couple of wounds left.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: