Switch Theme:

Bolt on big shootas  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter




London

My question is about how these are modelled on a vehicle such as a battlewagon. How do they work? Am I right in saying they are fired by the unit in the battlewagon, but this unit may only fire at one target. So if the unit fires at a target in front of he battlewagon, for the bolt on big shoota to hit it, would all of them have to be facing forward and mounted on the front of the battlewagon? Can anyone fill me in? I'ma newb really, but doesn't this make them a bit pointless?
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Bolt-on Big Shootas are a thing of the past. Old codex, you know.


-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter




London

Ha ha, never mind, but out of curiousity, how would it have worked?
   
Made in gb
Grumpy Longbeard






They were fired by units on board, but didn't have a fixed firing arc. That said, they were useless.

Opinions are like arseholes. Everyone's got one and they all stink. 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





I must admit I often mounted some Tankbustas in a BW with 5 BOBS and went around enjoying st 5 against light vehicles.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




BoBS were far from useless. I used to arm my BW with 2 TLBS, 4 BoBS and a Zzapp gun. Made my opponents cry.

With the current DEX the BSs are just vehicle upgrades. Still use 4 of them on my assault BW and put 2 on my KillCannon BW to keep Weapon Destroyed results from immobilizing it.
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




Ork vehicles and their weapons have always and it seems will always be a broblematic issue.

I cant recall how many posts I have seen about the fire arc of the rokkit lobba/big shoota that gomes with the trukk, for the old flatbed trukk it was fairly obvious but what would you do with a scratch built trukk with the gun mounted on top with a 360 arc of fire?

With the new codex there is the question of how the weapons mounted on the battlewagon are placed, there are a hell of alot of them if you tool it upp and not a single one has a restricted arc of fire, all are ither defined as 360 or its based on where the weapon is mounted.

The bolt on shootas of the old codex worked just like the pintle mounted storm bolter of the SM's with the exception that the passengers fired it and as such they had a 360 arc of fire.

I never took the time to scratch build a battlewagon during those days but it would be a-hoot-an-a-holler to get max number of bolt on big shootas and put in a unit of gretchin to man the guns. When I posted the suggestion here I got some rather amusing replies that you are not allowed to do that as orks would never let gretchin ride in the battlewagon leaving them on foot... people can be fun.

Anyhow orks and vehicles will for the forseeable future be a bonanza for the scratch builder.

Stelek wrote:Dude, you cannot FNP MC CC attacks. I don't care how you "read" the rules. I even don't care if you are correct and GW says you can. lol
In short GW rulings are void!  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: