Switch Theme:

Harlequin Target Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I looked through the old threads and did not see this brought up. This came up in a tournament I was in recently.

The wording of the rule that matters is as follows:
Any enemy unit wishing to target the shadowseer or the unit she is with must roll 2d6x2. This is their spotting distance in inches.
If the models are not within spotting range, they may not fire that turn.

So I always took this to mean that if a member of the shooting unit is within spotting distance of the harlequins, then the whole squad can fire at the entire squad of harlequins, assuming everyone was within weapon range. My opponent brought to my attention that it can easily be interpreted as only models in the shooting unit within the spotting distance can actually fire at models that can be spotted in the harlequin unit. I was curious if anyone had run into a definitive answer to this question.

The 5th edition night fight rules clearly state unit to unit, and I feel that using unit in the first sentence might be interpreted as unit to unit, but the last sentence uses models, which may be just GW trying to not overuse the same noun, but might also mean what my opponent said.

Thanks
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Los Angeles

AngrBodr wrote:I looked through the old threads and did not see this brought up. This came up in a tournament I was in recently.

The wording of the rule that matters is as follows:
Any enemy unit wishing to target the shadowseer or the unit she is with must roll 2d6x2. This is their spotting distance in inches.
If the models are not within spotting range, they may not fire that turn.

So I always took this to mean that if a member of the shooting unit is within spotting distance of the harlequins, then the whole squad can fire at the entire squad of harlequins, assuming everyone was within weapon range. My opponent brought to my attention that it can easily be interpreted as only models in the shooting unit within the spotting distance can actually fire at models that can be spotted in the harlequin unit. I was curious if anyone had run into a definitive answer to this question.

The 5th edition night fight rules clearly state unit to unit, and I feel that using unit in the first sentence might be interpreted as unit to unit, but the last sentence uses models, which may be just GW trying to not overuse the same noun, but might also mean what my opponent said.

Thanks


one of the biggest mistakes people make about VoT is comparing it with the night fighting rules. VoT is NOT night fighting, it is a psychic power with its own rules that have nothing to do with night fighting, though they are similar rules.

YOu can't even fire a barrage weapon at the Clowns, even though you can fire a barrage weapon at a target you can't see.

VoT=/=Nightfighting.

therefore it would ONLY be the models in spotting range, not the whole unit, as the wording of the codex is how it works.


Not enough 殺氣 ( sorry i have to apologize i honestly dunno how to say this in english ... ) "kill aura" xD -Lunahound 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

AngrBodr wrote:
Any enemy unit wishing to target the shadowseer or the unit she is with must roll 2d6x2. This is their spotting distance in inches.
If the models are not within spotting range, they may not fire that turn.

So I always took this to mean that if a member of the shooting unit is within spotting distance of the harlequins, then the whole squad can fire at the entire squad of harlequins, assuming everyone was within weapon range. My opponent brought to my attention that it can easily be interpreted as only models in the shooting unit within the spotting distance can actually fire at models that can be spotted in the harlequin unit. I was curious if anyone had run into a definitive answer to this question.



Look at the text of the rule. The third sentence is the penalty: "If the models are not within spotting range, they may not fire that turn."

So the penalty is applied to FIRING models who are not in range of any Harlequins. So as long as the firing model is within spotting distance of a single Harlequin then he can fire at the whole Harlequin unit because VOT says absolutely nothing about models in the Harlequin unit.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Look for a 5E FAQ coming to a town near you!

   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




As far as I can tell the unit that wishes to target the harlequins wish to fire on them they have to roll the dice for spotting, if the harlequins are withing range then they can fire, if they are not they cant.

Nothing is stated about individual models on ither side.

Stelek wrote:Dude, you cannot FNP MC CC attacks. I don't care how you "read" the rules. I even don't care if you are correct and GW says you can. lol
In short GW rulings are void!  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: