Switch Theme:

IC in Terminator Armor, his squad, and Sweeping Advance  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




I was shuffling points around a 2000 pt list for a 4th ed RTT when I got down to comparing a Marshal with Terminator Honors and a combat shield versus a Marshal with Terminator Armor. I figured I was down to weighing whether I wanted a 2+ save or if I wanted the ability to have a Sweeping Advance.

Then I thought (and here's my question)

A) Since the IC counts as a seperate unit and gets resolved that way for CC, would the squad he charged in with be able to have a Sweeping Advance, provided that they don't have Terminator Armor?

B) If that were the case, then wouldn't I make two separate sweeping advance rolls if the IC and the squad are both wearing power armor?

I just wanted to make sure I understood this completely before I make a fool out of myself at a tournament. I'd rather do that here.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Marshal_Gus wrote:I was shuffling points around a 2000 pt list for a 4th ed RTT when I got down to comparing a Marshal with Terminator Honors and a combat shield versus a Marshal with Terminator Armor. I figured I was down to weighing whether I wanted a 2+ save or if I wanted the ability to have a Sweeping Advance.

Then I thought (and here's my question)

A) Since the IC counts as a seperate unit and gets resolved that way for CC, would the squad he charged in with be able to have a Sweeping Advance, provided that they don't have Terminator Armor?

B) If that were the case, then wouldn't I make two separate sweeping advance rolls if the IC and the squad are both wearing power armor?

I just wanted to make sure I understood this completely before I make a fool out of myself at a tournament. I'd rather do that here.



ICs only count as a separate unit when resolving their ATTACKS. When it comes to Leadership tests, sweeping advances, etc. they count as being part of the unit they are joined to.

So yes, a single model in terminator armor will stop the entire unit he is joined to from making a sweeping advance.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: