Switch Theme:

Zzap guns do not roll to hit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





El Paso, Texas

I read over the reference section of the 5th edition and when I came to the Ork section, I noted a double asterisk at the bottom which referred to the Zzap Gun with the following; "** See Codex: Orks for more details. Zzap guns do not roll to hit."

This seemed mighty odd to me as I cannot find any reference in the Codex or in the new FAQ which actually supports this. Any input?

Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?"  
   
Made in ca
Serious Squig Herder






Hmm, last time I checked the Auto-hit rule for the Zzap Gun was removed. It was auto-hit in the previous codex. I'm not really sure what to say to this lol.

blarg 
   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

Awesome, I have 3 batteries of them coming out for our apocalypse games!

This may indeed by short lived, and fixed with an FAQ. Then again, it might be they forgot to put the notation in the latest Ork codex, and it's true.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


The reference lists in the back of the new rulebook seem to have a few typos in them. But the section clearly says that the codex version takes preference so your Zzap guns follow the normal rules in the codex and require a roll 'to hit'.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: