Switch Theme:

Ambush Rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Can anyone give me an idea of how this rule works? I haven't been able to find it in any rulebooks. My friend plays Chaos Mortals right now, and uses warhounds, who are listed with Ambush as an ability, but we haven't been able to figure out what the rule is. Thanks!
   
Made in us
Terrifying Wraith




Houston

The Ambush rule can be found in the Beast of Chaos book, it allows those units to arrive from reserves if your general also has the ambush rule.

Fantasy: 4000 - WoC, 1500 - VC, 1500 - Beastmen
40k: 2000 - White Scars
Hordes: 5/100 - Circle of Orboros
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok, thanks. I'm not familiar with arriving from reserves as well. Is it similar to Dwarven Miners or Skaven Tunneling Teams in that they can come onto the board from any table edge after turn 1, depending on a roll?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Well, reserves doesn't really apply- that's a 40K term. Your best bet is to find a BoC army book and look up the actual rule.

What happens is, if you have any units that can ambush, one half of them do not have to be deployed at the start of the game. (If he only has one ambushing unit, it cannot ambush.)

At the start of his second turn, or at any turn thereafter, he may decide to have his ambushing unit come on the table. At the start of his remaining moves phase, he would place a marker for each unit at the point on the table edge he wants that unit to enter, and roll for its leadership.

If he rolls above the leadership, a scatter die is rolled in the center of the table, and the unit enters play from the point on the table edge indicated by the arrow.

If he rolls the leadership or below, the unit comes on at the marked point. Every model in the unit moves on from that point, and cannot march (or charge).

If I recall correctly, no mortal general has the ambush rule, so he won't be able to use this ability at all.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/10 00:36:52


He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for clarifying fellblade. I didn't think any mortals had that ability.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: