Switch Theme:

Shooting through area cover?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Legendary Dogfighter





Birmingham - GB

I may have mis read this or not understood correctly.

Area cover terrain, if your target is stood in it they get a cover save, if they are behind it but between two parts (trees in the example) then they get a cover save, however if the target is behind the terrain, but not behind parts, e.g. outside of the 'vertical aspect' but behind the base they get no cover save. Is this true, even if there is more than 2" distance of board between you and the target (shouting out you can shoot up to 2" from inside without conferring cover saves).

It just seems a bit illogical to me, the rules assumer that there would be bushes etc between the two trees, and on the base where a model is stood, yet they become flat when the model is behinf the base? I understand that it takes into account people ducking into the crevases etc when stood on the base, but seem to change their mind for those behing it. Or do they assume that all terrain peieces like this are effectivly dome shaped, and this is the simplist way of conveying this in the rules?

I'm coming to get you

My Silver Deamon winning GD entry http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/302651.page

check out my P&M for more projects!

part of other hobby - dark age jewellery www.darkagejewellery.com 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation





The old rules assumed there would be bushes, etc. The new rules do not.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Just to clarify-- Yes, area cover is assumed to be dome-shaped. But remember- if the majority of your squad is still within the dome from the POV of the majority of the opposing squad, ALL of your squad gets a cover save.
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator




South Pasadena

Yes it is a dome, but a dome that does not block LOS. I miss 4th ed forests.

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Democratus wrote:The old rules assumed there would be bushes, etc. The new rules do not.



Sure they do, that's why a model is still "in cover" when standing between two trees in a piece of area terrain. It's just the rules no longer assume that the foliage is so dense that it can't be seen through at all.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation





yakface wrote:
Democratus wrote:The old rules assumed there would be bushes, etc. The new rules do not.



Sure they do, that's why a model is still "in cover" when standing between two trees in a piece of area terrain. It's just the rules no longer assume that the foliage is so dense that it can't be seen through at all.




I was addressing this in the context of the OP, where the models are specifically not between two tall pieces in the area terrain. In this case the models get no cover save and it is not assumed that there are bushes, etc. blocking the view. See page 22 in the rulebook.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: