Switch Theme:

Genestealers and Running with the broodlord  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





CT, USA

Can a retinue of genestealers assault an enemy from a fleet move after the broodlord has run? (I don't beleive he has fleet) Can the broodlord assault? When I make an assault with the said squad- do I have to maintain coherency with the broodlord, or can I wait for the pile in move and cite the rule that has you move as many models as possible into base contact? Any answers are appreciated- I'm sure I'm just not looking close enough in the rules, but I can't figure it out. Thanks.

...one amongst untold billions.
DR:90S+G+M+B++I+Pw40k05+D++A++/hWD318R++T(G)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin






since your bound by the slowest member of the squad for movement i'd say your stuck with the broodlords rules or lack thereof.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Broodlord does not have Fleet, so while the unit can run, it cannot assault after running.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




Between the Sun and the Sky

In the USR section, you'll see that some rules are lost by characters when joining units (and yes, being in a Retinue is still joining a unit). This goes for Fleet and the Broodlord as well.

Catch me if you can.
 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Los Angeles

Iboshi2 wrote:Can a retinue of genestealers assault an enemy from a fleet move after the broodlord has run? (I don't beleive he has fleet) Can the broodlord assault? When I make an assault with the said squad- do I have to maintain coherency with the broodlord, or can I wait for the pile in move and cite the rule that has you move as many models as possible into base contact? Any answers are appreciated- I'm sure I'm just not looking close enough in the rules, but I can't figure it out. Thanks.


According to the special rules section, page 74, all special rules marked with an (*) denote rules lost by a unit when joined by an independant character that does not have that rule.

Fleet is marked with an (*)

therefore the broodlord retinue doe NOT have fleet when joined by the broodlord, and cannot assault after a run move. If the broodlord is killed, the squad regains fleet.

EDIT: wow, ninja'ed by three people while finding the exact page number.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/21 19:26:34



Not enough 殺氣 ( sorry i have to apologize i honestly dunno how to say this in english ... ) "kill aura" xD -Lunahound 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

Actually, doesn't the Broodlord's genestealer squad not even HAVE the fleet special rule? Or are they just Genestealers chosen from the troops section?

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





CT, USA

thanks for that clarification guys- I appreciate it...

Yes- the retinue for the broodlord is just straight out of the troops choice.

...one amongst untold billions.
DR:90S+G+M+B++I+Pw40k05+D++A++/hWD318R++T(G)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

so then likewise, in the unlikely event that massed fire ends up killing the broodlord before it kills all the genestealers, they'll then be fleeting right?

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener





Bossier City, Louisiana

Spellbound wrote:Actually, doesn't the Broodlord's genestealer squad not even HAVE the fleet special rule? Or are they just Genestealers chosen from the troops section?


From the Tyranid codex... "One Broodlord & a retinue of 5-11 Genestealers (see Troops entry)."

so the Genestealers in his retinue are plain ol' Troops style Stealers w/ all the same rules & characteristics.

That which does not kill us, makes us stronger. That which kills us, makes us stronger. We are the terror in the night, the shadow in the warp.


http://www.dakkadakka.com/core/gallery-user.jsp?u=5162 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I was disappointed to see that this carried over from 4th (Stealers losing Fleet when w/ Broodlord). It's a fair rule; I just want to sink my claws in ASAP. However, I think I've found a new loophole to avoid the problem--although, it creates another one.

By moving the Broodlord out of coherency at the start of the turn, your Stealers all regain their Fleet rule. Use it to get them into assault in the same turn. Your Broodlord will be left hanging around, but if you infiltrate them well and play it smart, he will be behind the squad and receive a cover save when the combat is over.

Thoughts? Have I misread the coherency/character rules?
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

doak22 wrote:I was disappointed to see that this carried over from 4th (Stealers losing Fleet when w/ Broodlord). It's a fair rule; I just want to sink my claws in ASAP. However, I think I've found a new loophole to avoid the problem--although, it creates another one.

By moving the Broodlord out of coherency at the start of the turn, your Stealers all regain their Fleet rule. Use it to get them into assault in the same turn. Your Broodlord will be left hanging around, but if you infiltrate them well and play it smart, he will be behind the squad and receive a cover save when the combat is over.

Thoughts? Have I misread the coherency/character rules?


Problem is that your Broodlord isn't allowed to leave the unit, so he has to finish the movement phase in coherency with the 'stealers. Which puts them right where they started.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/24 15:44:18


 
   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

Yeah, not even close to a 'nice try'. The Broodlord can't leave the squad, so you can't move him out of coherency.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in us
Commoragh-bound Peer



san antonio, tx

yes but technicly cant you still assualt the normal stealers as long as you keep coherancy?

i swear i didnt see that pothole in life
armies nids/necrons/darkeldar/eldar/tau/
chaos marines/ IG -marines in development

 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






No. Models do not assault; units do. For the unit to assault after running, every model in the unit must have the fleet special rule.
   
Made in au
Furious Raptor






Australia

With the new outflanking rules for infilatrating, you could just have them come in on a table edge a little bit later in the game and wreck the enemys face. And let the Broodlord do some fighting as well.

The Purple Patrol
==============================
DS:90S+G+MB--I+Pwhfb05#++D++A+++/hWD200R+T(T)DM++
==============================
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






it's not even about "every model has to have fleet" though, none of the genestealers have fleet as long as the broodlord is alive in that unit.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: