Switch Theme:

Dark Eldar: FAQ Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

This is part of an effort to get GW to answer questions. Who knows, maybe it will work, maybe it won't.

When you tank shock, since you cannot Ram other vehicles--do you stop at any vehicle, or fly over any other vehicle as if they weren't there?

   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






The Webway portal is still unclear on whether the person deploying it can move in the movement phase on the turn it is deployed or not, the two common interpretations are that you have to remain motionless in both the movement and shooting phase(and not shoot) to deploy it, or that you merely deploy it instead of performing any other action in the shooting phase and can do this after moving in the movement phase.

The FAQ makes it clear the talos is a Monstrous Creature, it states it uses the Monstrous Creature rules "rather than skimmers" does this mean it no longer uses the skimmer rule in the Dark Eldar Codex or merely that it is not a Skimmer in the sense of the Core Rulebook?

Additionally, with the Talos' special rules for attacking a vehicle it is clear that it only rolls once for armour penetration, however, is this roll 2d6 as per a monstrous creature, or 1d6 since the special rule makes no mention of a special roll for penetration?

The FAQ states xenospasm grenade effects are cumulative if fired by the same unit, however the xenospasm is a 1 per army wargear, what is this entry in the FAQ supposed to be demonstrating?

The Nightmare Doll allows the player to force a reroll on the dice for table edge, is this piece of wargear now useless or can it be used to force a reroll of the dice off for table edge still despite this now also governing who deploys and moves first?

The FAQ says that a character on Hellion skyboard cannot charge 12" as the drugs cannot make the board go faster, what does this mean for a character on the skyboard assaulting into cover, do they still make a difficult terrain test as per normal jump infantry due to the fact that they "cover the last few yards of an assault on foot." or do they make a dangerous terrain test as a model on a bike would and assault 6" always?


Is it just me or is it worrying that the FAQ leaves so many questions unanswered, is anyone actually asking Dark Eldar players about this stuff or just guessing at what we want to know? And this is only the stuff that is confusing, let alone the questions I have on WHY things were ruled certain ways.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2008/07/23 07:00:00


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

I know few DE players in my state. So I have few to ask anything of. I like your questions.

I don't use any of the stuff except the WWP (and just don't move so no one complains, not that the WWP army isn't usually an instant win lol) so I dunno.

I wish they would ask players, or at least talk more when we talk to them.

Be nice if that changed. Really would be.

Thanks for adding!

   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Tangentially related to the skyboard question: Have you ever seen snowboarders run with their feet strapped in? It can totally be done.

1. Setting up the Webway Portal takes up both the model's movement phase and its shooting phase.

2. Yes, apply the rules for Monstrous Creatures instead of the rules for Skimmers.

3. The special roll for penetration is 1D6+S+1 per additional hit.

4. That GW makes mistakes. Hopefully if we point it out they'll fix it quickly - remember the gaffe about Fleet models being about to assault after Deep Strike being fixed promptly when it was pointed out.

5. Yes.

6. Hellion Skyboards make a model Jump Infantry, so apply the difficult terrain test accordingly.

7. The FAQ does seem like a bit of a rush job - there's some rather awkward phrasing and some answers should have been flagged by an editor. Maybe they threw this out to give players something and they're busy collating more complete documents.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Nurglitch wrote:1. Setting up the Webway Portal takes up both the model's movement phase and its shooting phase.

While that's the most popular interpretation it's a poorly worded rule and could easily go both ways.

2. Yes, apply the rules for Monstrous Creatures instead of the rules for Skimmers.

this doesn't answer the question of how the ruling affects the skimmer rule in Codex: Dark Eldar which the Talos has, it's once again bad wording.

3. The special roll for penetration is 1D6+S+1 per additional hit.

the Talos' rules dictate that you "only roll once" but not how many dice that is, I would think it should be 2d6 per Monstrous Creature rules.

5. Yes.

Yes is a poor answer for a question that posed two potential effects.

6. Hellion Skyboards make a model Jump Infantry, so apply the difficult terrain test accordingly.

So they must make a difficult terrain test as they close the final distance on foot, but they cannot charge extra distance since they close on their boards? Seems as though this has foolishly been ruled based on the models. Maybe models have to have their close combat weapons in their hands to be able to fight in close combat as well? and if your bolter is slung at your hip while you point you can't fire it yes?

I appreciate your help in trying to resolve these, but some of them really don't provide you with enough to be able to decisively resolve them.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: