Switch Theme:

Couple of WON Tyranid questions.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Crazed Wardancer





United Kingdom

1) Can I choose not to have my WON gaunts turn up once they are wiped out?

(this might be useful in an annihilation game)

2) When does the test for Synapse influence occur? Before or after my WON gaunts arrive?

i.e. Do I need to leave a synapse creature at the back for the turn that they come back?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/25 15:46:15




Interested in a gaming club in West Kent? Email hydragamingclub@gmail.com for more info 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






1) the without number rule says a brood removed from play "may be brought back into play at the beginning of the next tyranid turn" so I'm pretty sure you can choose not to at any point, although I'm not sure if you could then bring them back on later if you changed your mind, but I get the feeling you couldn't.

2)WON gaunts arrive at the start of the turn instinctive behaviour is tested at the start of the movement phase. Generally I would consider this to mean yes WON gaunts moving onto the board test for instinctive behaviour, although others would argue that since they come on from reserves and thus move onto the table they are already in their movement phase when they appear and the instinctive behaviour tests should have already been taken, thus making them exempt.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/25 16:44:55


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine





Los Angeles

WON gaunts that are moving onto the board don't test for instinctive behavior. How do you measure 12" to them? Where would they lurk?

I play

I will magnetize (now doing LED as well) your models for you, send me a DM!

My gallery images show some of my work
 
   
Made in gb
Crazed Wardancer





United Kingdom

One for the FAQ thread then!

I can't get anyone in my LFGS to come up with a satisfactory answer either way either.

Whilst I understand what Lormax is trying to say, "where would they lurk" isn't really a rules answer. The beginning of turn / movement phase argument is also iffy as there isn't anything in a 40k turn before the movement phase. turn starts, movement phase begins at the same time...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/25 18:02:27




Interested in a gaming club in West Kent? Email hydragamingclub@gmail.com for more info 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

IIRC, isn't there something in the Reserves rules about special movements, etc, not having any effect on the turn they arrive from Reserve? Forget how it's worded but I remember thinking it would apply to 'Nids coming from Reserve when I read it.
Re them using outflank, I'd say no. You have to state that a unit is going to use outflank when you place it in Reserve, since they aren't "placed in Reserve", they cannot make such a declaration.
But this would be a good one for an FAQ.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener





Bossier City, Louisiana

Reserves BGB pg.94 'Arriving From Reserves'

'If a unit has a special rule forcing it to move in a specific direction or that could stop it from moving, the rule is ignored in the phase when it arrives from Reserve.'

So no worry about having to lurk gaunts arriving from reserve, that aspect of Instinctive Behavior is ignored and they move onto the table normally.

That which does not kill us, makes us stronger. That which kills us, makes us stronger. We are the terror in the night, the shadow in the warp.


http://www.dakkadakka.com/core/gallery-user.jsp?u=5162 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Rockit wrote:Reserves BGB pg.94 'Arriving From Reserves'

'If a unit has a special rule forcing it to move in a specific direction or that could stop it from moving, the rule is ignored in the phase when it arrives from Reserve.'

So no worry about having to lurk gaunts arriving from reserve, that aspect of Instinctive Behavior is ignored and they move onto the table normally.


That's what I was thinking of. Thanks Rockit!

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: