Switch Theme:

Hit by a template, is there a cover save for being obscured by troops?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I aim plasma weapon at nearby enemy A. It scatters and hits enemy unit B behind enemy A. Do the troops of enemy unit B get a 4+ cover save for being behind enemy? Could they also 'go to ground'? Nothing in the codex states that they would NOT get a cover save, but the sequence for blast templates does not say specifically that they would get the cover save for being obscured by troops.

Thanks....
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yes, they get a cover save. Draw LOS from shooter to where the blast marker lands, is there intervening cover for 50% of the unit? If yes, they get a cover save.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa

What the Don said, with the exception of guess weapons, where cover it drawn from the center of the blast.

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Blast weapons and template weapons are two different types of weapons.

You should really be more succinct when asking a question about either, because template weapons ignore cover saves (for instance).


In your example (against a blast weapon), yes you'd check to see if the unit hit by the blast weapon was "in cover" in relation to the firing model and if so they'd get a cover save and could indeed go to ground if they wanted.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: