Switch Theme:

Fortune and PotW  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






I would like to know how fortune works with Perils of the Warp. I apologize if this has been discussed already, but I couldn't find it. I've written what I think is the right, but please correct me if I'm wrong. I assume in the following that the farseer has suffered a PotW attack which his ghosthelm has failed to nullify.

1. When can fortune be cast such that the farseer is actively fortuned during the PotW attack?
Fortune cast on the previous turn lasts until the beginning of the current turn, so it cannot affect the save against PotW. If fortune was already successfully cast on this turn, it will affect the save. What if the farseer is casting fortune and rolls double ones? The power succeeds, but is it active already during the PotW attack? This is not addressed explicitly, but I believe the answer is "yes." A psyker that dies due to PotW will still get to use his power (BGB pg 50), so it stands to reason that the power activates before he takes the wound.

2. What does a fortuned Farseer have to roll to successfully save the PotW attack?
PotW will force a successful (invulnerable) saving throw to be rerolled (BGB pg 50). Fortune allows a failed saving to be rerolled (Eldar codex pg 28). A die may be rerolled only once (BGB pg 2). Thus the first roll will be rerolled no matter what, due to PotW if successful and due to fortune if failed. The second roll stands because of the one reroll rule. Since the first roll is irrelevant, fortune and the PotW reroll effectively cancel one another out, with the stipulation that the result cannot be rerolled for any reason.

Does that seem right?
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






1. I would agree with you, a double one on a test to grant herself fortune would allow fortune to be used with saves taken agains perils.

2. as far as I can see from RAW yes, you would effectively end up rolling a single dice with no rerolls allowed.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






Thanks for the confirmation. Anybody else want to chime in?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Sure. You still cast the power.

Ghost helm is not a save. It's an ignore.

Since it isn't a save, you have a choice:

Take the 3+ without being forced to re-roll it.

Take a 4+, being forced to re-roll it, and getting a re-roll on a failed roll (either first, or second).

GW does need to clarify how this should work, whether it's a re-roll chain or cancel.

   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






Since the ghost helm is an ignore, not a save, you don't have to choose whether to take take the ghost helm ignore or the rune armor save. You can try the ghost helm ignore first, and if that fails, you can try to save. Or am I misunderstanding you?

I think that in the current set of rules, you can't have a reroll chain because no die may be rerolled more than one.
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





CT, USA

It seems to me like this issue is a matter of sequence. If the invunerable save for PotW is passed- it needs to be re-rolled (All successfull potw saves are re-rolled). If the invunerable save is failed- it needs to be re-rolled (fortune allows for a failed save to be re-rolled). Seeing as you can never re-roll a re-roll, the extra re-roll will never be granted, so, essentially- the potw save is taken twice- using the second result. If your opponent understands this- it's fine to just roll one save and take the result.
I think i just said what has already been said, but oh well....

...one amongst untold billions.
DR:90S+G+M+B++I+Pw40k05+D++A++/hWD318R++T(G)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

Brain HURT!

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

So 3 main resolutions to this right?

1. ok so if a far seer suffers Perils he gets his inv save, which if passed must be re-rolled, then if save is failed is allowed ghost helm?

2. Suffers perils, then fails his inv the 1st time then passes the 2ond.

3. Suffers perils, then fails inv then fails again then fails GH and dies?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/07/30 16:18:42


"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Red_Lives wrote:So 3 main resolutions to this right?

1. ok so if a far seer suffers Perils he gets his inv save, which if passed must be re-rolled, then if save is failed is allowed ghost helm?

2. Suffers perils, then fails his inv the 1st time then passes the 2ond.

3. Suffers perils, then fails inv then fails again then fails GH and dies?


Technically I think the GH would apply before the save, although I'm not 100% on that.

Also, PotW is now just a single wound no matter what, no more instakilled farseers, but also no more rolling to wound.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/30 16:40:19


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

oh its not str 6 anymore? damn no more insta kill far seers =/

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror




Golden, CO

I've played with the Ghosthelm 'ignore' ability first, then if that fails roll armor for PotW.

If the first roll fails, then you may choose to reroll for Fortune - this next roll stands, as you cannot re-roll a re-roll.

If you succeed in the first invulnerable save roll, you must re-roll according to Perils, and again this next roll stands because you cannot re-roll a re-roll.

In the end, the first roll is irrelevant, and it all boils down to the second roll (unless one chooses not to take their Fortune re-roll, but that's silly). Which makes Farseers under Fortune that much more protected against PotW compared to any other psyker out there, which is as it should be.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: