Switch Theme:

Zzap gun. Auto hit or no?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Plaguebearer with a Flu




Kaurava II, Moon III

Straight to the point, zzap gun. Is it auto hit or no?
'
According to the codex, I didn't see anything that said that zzap gun doesn't roll to hit. However, I just read in the summary area of the 5th ed. rulebook. It says, " Zzap gun doesn't need to roll to hit."

anyone can help me understand this? which one is true?

The best thing that you can know about yourself is that you finally realized that you're good at something. For knowing that: Priceless. Anything else, just kill yourself.
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Denver

Someone copy-pasted poorly?

The 2nd page of the current Ork 5th Edition Codex FAQ has a question about the order of operations for using the weapon, in which it specifies that the determination of the weapon's strength is made before making the to-hit roll. That would seem to override any concern that a misprint in the 5th Edition summary overrode the Codex entry.

Interested in gaming related original artwork?* You can view my collection of 40k, BattleTech, L5R and other miscellaneous pieces at https://www.comicartfans.com/GalleryDetail.asp?GCat=158415

*This means published works by professional artists, not me of course. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




St. George, UT

My codex says ZZaps have to roll to hit. Codex wins out over rule book. FAQ also seems to confirm this.

See pics of my Orks, Tau, Emperor's Children, Necrons, Space Wolves, and Dark Eldar here:


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Yes, the reference section in the rulebook clearly says that with any discrepancy between the rulebook and the codex that the codex is correct.

Since the codex requires Zzap guns to roll to hit, they do.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





El Paso, Texas

Q. Is the roll for a Zzap Gun's Strength made before or after the target unit is chosen?

A. The roll is made after choosing a target unit, but before rolling to hit.


The above section from the Ork FAQ leads us to believe that the Zzap gun still rolls to hit, as referred by the answer to this question. Just for clarification if the disclosure before the reference section in the BGB wasn't enough.

Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?"  
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

It was probably just an oversight with the rules in the ork codex... With the way Zzapp guns work there is no reason to pick them over Kannons now...

 
   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

frgsinwntr wrote:It was probably just an oversight with the rules in the ork codex... With the way Zzapp guns work there is no reason to pick them over Kannons now...


Well, unless you already have a half dozen of them.

But they do a good job of guarding objectives in Apocalypse. Put the zappies in some cover about 12" away from the objective, wait for some vehicle to wander up, and turn it into a barbq.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Zzap gunz dont have to roll to hit...

The Ork codex dated 2007 and does not have any rules saying that the zzap gun does or does not have to role to hit

The 5th ed Rulebook dated 2008 says Zzap guns dont roll to hit

The 5th ed Summary Rulebook dated 2008 also says that Zzap guns dont roll to hit

The Ork FAQ dated 2005 says "Q. Is the roll for a Zzap Gun's Strength made before or after the target unit is chosen? A. The roll is made after choosing a target unit, but before rolling to hit."

This is not saying zzap guns roll to hit its stating the time in the shooting phase where the strength is rolled...

I hope this helps any ork players!

WAAAAAAAAAAGH!!!!
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

2 year old thread is 2 years old...

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: