Switch Theme:

Swooping Hawks - placed back in reserve - still drop grenades?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran






A small town at the foothills of the beautiful Cascade Mountains

I try to deep-strike my Hawks but of course scatter onto an enemy unit. I then roll that I have to send the unit back into reserve.

Do I still drop the grenades?

This came up last game....

Thanks,

Mez

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/31 05:40:19


***Visit Mezmaron's Lair, my blog....***
40K: Classic 'Cron Raiders Hive Fleet Kraken Alaitoc Craftworld |
FOW:
Polish 1st Armoured Polish 1st Airbourne German Kampfgruppe Knaust |
RK
: Cerci Speed Circuit, Black Diamond Corps | 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

I'd like to say 'no'... but I'm not sure the rules actually support it.

If the unit rolls a 'Delayed' result, they are placed back in Reserve, as something has gone wrong and delayed their arrival. I would take that to mean that the unit didn't actually Deep Strike at that point, in which case they don't get to drop grenades.

Unfortunately, the rules for the Hawk Grenade Pack don't actually specify that the unit uses them when it Deep Strikes... just that it does so when it uses its Deep Strike ability.

Attempting to Deep Strike, even if unsuccessful, could be taken to satisfy the criteria of 'using the Deep Strike ability'... in which case, even if they are delayed, they have still used the ability, and so can still drop grenades.

Maybe they just flew over, but couldn't find a landing place they liked...


Personally, I'd still go with the 'no'... but ruleswise? It could go either way, IMO.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






A small town at the foothills of the beautiful Cascade Mountains

Attempting to Deep Strike, even if unsuccessful, could be taken to satisfy the criteria of 'using the Deep Strike ability'... in which case, even if they are delayed, they have still used the ability, and so can still drop grenades.


That is what I argued for. I forget what we even decided to do, as it really didn't matter game-wise.

Sounds like it may be a good entry for a new FAQ.

Thanks! Mez

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/31 05:42:53


***Visit Mezmaron's Lair, my blog....***
40K: Classic 'Cron Raiders Hive Fleet Kraken Alaitoc Craftworld |
FOW:
Polish 1st Armoured Polish 1st Airbourne German Kampfgruppe Knaust |
RK
: Cerci Speed Circuit, Black Diamond Corps | 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: