Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/01 09:53:57
Subject: Hit and Run, whose assault phase may I use it?
|
 |
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger
|
Hello,
I am sure that Hit and Run has been argued about before, especially since I've seen quotes like the one below while searching.
Posted by Mannahin on 2007/02/11 04:58:36
Posted By xero on 02/11/2007 9:16 AM
3: Assuming I take the Withdraw ability; does Hit and Run allow me to fall back at the end of my opponents Assault phase, thus possibly allowing me to re-charge on my turn, and gain the extra attack dice?
Yes indeed. This is one of several good tactical uses for it.
But is this really true? I haven't found the actual argument for this.
As we all agree, 40k is permissive, and there I have seen no rule explicitly stating that you can use the H&R USR in the oppenents Assault phase. Can someone point me to a reference, or the old argument? By my reading H&R only states that it may be used "at the end of the (an??) assault phase."
I quest for Troof!
|
He's not going to kill the Falcon anyway, it's built from magic fairy wings and dreams. -- Phyraxis |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/01 10:01:48
Subject: Hit and Run, whose assault phase may I use it?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
From page 75 of the BRB: Units with this ability that are locked in combat may choose to leave close combat at the end of the Assault phase.
that is the core summary of how the rules work, or when they can be used. So there's a check list you should go through: Is this unit in combat? Is it the end of the Assault Phase? If you want more support for it then the rule concludes with the following: If there are units with this rule on both sides, roll-off to determine who goes first and then alternate disengaging them.
The only way this clarification could possibly be needed is if a unit can opt to Hit and Run in the opponent's assault phase. I think it is quite clear that Hit and Run can be used in either player's assault phase.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/08/01 10:03:13
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/01 10:05:34
Subject: Hit and Run, whose assault phase may I use it?
|
 |
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger
|
Thank you,
I think my original questions would still be valid after the first two points, but the third quote makes it very clear.
Thank you again.
|
He's not going to kill the Falcon anyway, it's built from magic fairy wings and dreams. -- Phyraxis |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/01 17:55:42
Subject: Hit and Run, whose assault phase may I use it?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
der Wiskinator wrote:Hello,
I am sure that Hit and Run has been argued about before, especially since I've seen quotes like the one below while searching.
Posted by Mannahin on 2007/02/11 04:58:36
Posted By xero on 02/11/2007 9:16 AM
3: Assuming I take the Withdraw ability; does Hit and Run allow me to fall back at the end of my opponents Assault phase, thus possibly allowing me to re-charge on my turn, and gain the extra attack dice?
Yes indeed. This is one of several good tactical uses for it.
But is this really true? I haven't found the actual argument for this.
As we all agree, 40k is permissive, and there I have seen no rule explicitly stating that you can use the H&R USR in the oppenents Assault phase. Can someone point me to a reference, or the old argument? By my reading H&R only states that it may be used "at the end of the (an??) assault phase."
I quest for Troof!
For the record, GW rules are NOT permissive.
By definition, "Permissive" rules would allow it unless you were told otherwise.
By NOT allowing it, unless given permission, that makes them Exclusionary (sometimes referred to as "Permission Based").
That being said, the best answer for you was as quoted from the rulebook:
Units with this ability that are locked in combat may choose to leave close combat at the end of the Assault phase.
You can H&R after either assault phase, though it seems to me a relatively rare occasion that would have you H&R after your OWN Assault phase.
Eric
|
Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/01 22:48:29
Subject: Re:Hit and Run, whose assault phase may I use it?
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
You can H&R after either assault phase, though it seems to me a relatively rare occasion that would have you H&R after your OWN Assault phase.
I'd agree. I've never come across a situation that needed it.
|
"Now I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds." - J. Robert Oppenheimer - Exterminatus had it's roots way back in history. |
|
 |
 |
|