Switch Theme:

bonding knife and kroot  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne





Sheboygan

if i have a commander who has a bonding knife, and he joins with a unit of kroot, can the kroot rally under half strength while the commander is with the unit, or not. the rules for the bonding knife are rather vague on this point.

   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





El Paso, Texas

I would say no, both on fluff reasons (which obviously don't count) and by the wording in the rule. It specifically states "the bonded team", and every entry with a possible bearer of this item use the term "team", such as Battlesuit Team, Stealth Team, Fire Warrior Team, but this doesn't exist for the Kroot, and therefore would assume it was not intended for use with this unit.

Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?"  
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

The bondage knife only applies to the unit it was bought for. It is basically a wargear item like a drone controller.

A bondage knife is useless to a unit that has from one to four models in it at the start of the game, because it only allows rallying below half strength.

(Must remember to check Last Man Standing rules in 5th edition.)

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





No Last Man Standing anymore.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Using Inks and Washes






Kilkrazy wrote:The bondage knife only applies to the unit it was bought for. It is basically a wargear item like a drone controller.

A bondage knife is useless to a unit that has from one to four models in it at the start of the game, because it only allows rallying below half strength.

(Must remember to check Last Man Standing rules in 5th edition.)


Would be useful to a stealth unit of 3 or 4 that should be able to attempt to rally with only one model left alive.

2014 will be the year of zero GW purchases. Kneadite instead of GS, no paints or models. 2014 will be the year I finally make the move to military models and away from miniature games. 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

Yes, since there is no longer Last man Standing. That was the rule that made it pointless before.

Well, that's good news for solo suits equipped with drones.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: