Switch Theme:

Pavane + Breath same time?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration






Hopping on the pain wagon

Just a quick question that came up in a game last night. I had a daemon prince with both Pavane and Breath - Monstrous creatures can shoot twice, so I shot twice and an issue came up with timing - can I pavane a unit and then flame it or do both hit simultaneously allowing the flamer on the original formation and then move them?

Thanks!

Kabal of the Razor's Song project log

There is a secret song at the center of the universe and its sound is like razors through flesh. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

In general, all shooting happens at the same time so you could hit with pavane, register your flame attacks, then move the unit.

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I'm inclined to agree with Stelek, but it definitely seems like a good question to have included on a Chaos Demon FAQ.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver






Saint Paul

I agree with Stelek too. You would not be able, IMO, to pavane a unit into range and then template it for that reason.

   
Made in us
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





biztheclown wrote:You would not be able, IMO, to pavane a unit into range and then template it for that reason.


Why not?

"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."

-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Cadian16th wrote:
biztheclown wrote:You would not be able, IMO, to pavane a unit into range and then template it for that reason.


Why not?



As was stated above, all of a unit's shooting is resolved using the steps for shooting.

So while we can't know for sure what 'step' the lash actually moves the unit, most reasonable people would probably agree it occurs after the 'to hit' step which is when template weapons determine who is hit in the target unit.

Therefore, by the time the unit is moved, the template has already been placed and any models underneath have already been established.


But it most certainly is not a black-and-white case, which is why it should be FAQ'd.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





St. Louis, MO

I don't think it should be limited.
Even though all shooting is meant to be simultaneous within a unit, that doesn't necessarily mean the individual has to conform to that.

Using both spells to their maximum efficiency could simply be said to represent pulling them in and spraying them down as they are dragged into range.

Plus, they have to be done individually. You roll your psychic spells one at a time, not all at the same time.

Eric

Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

MagickalMemories wrote:I don't think it should be limited.
Even though all shooting is meant to be simultaneous within a unit, that doesn't necessarily mean the individual has to conform to that.


Yes they do. A unit follows the steps for shooting and once it is done the unit is finished shooting for the turn. It doesn't matter if the unit is firing one weapon or a hundred or can fire at one unit or a hundred.

Once you've finished 'rolling to hit' that unit isn't rolling any more 'to hit' rolls that phase. Once a unit finishes rolling 'to wound' it is done for the phase, etc, etc, etc.

Using both spells to their maximum efficiency could simply be said to represent pulling them in and spraying them down as they are dragged into range.

Plus, they have to be done individually. You roll your psychic spells one at a time, not all at the same time.

Eric



First, there are no psychic powers in the Chaos Daemon codex, only ranged shooting attacks. Second, even if they were psychic shooting attacks there's no reason you wouldn't make both psychic checks before beginning the normal steps for shooting.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





yakface wrote:
MagickalMemories wrote:
Using both spells to their maximum efficiency could simply be said to represent pulling them in and spraying them down as they are dragged into range.

Plus, they have to be done individually. You roll your psychic spells one at a time, not all at the same time.

Eric



First, there are no psychic powers in the Chaos Daemon codex, only ranged shooting attacks. Second, even if they were psychic shooting attacks there's no reason you wouldn't make both psychic checks before beginning the normal steps for shooting.




So if you had a CSM Sorcerer or DP with Lash and WoC, would it change how you could do things?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/08/05 07:03:25


"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."

-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Cadian16th wrote:
So if you had a CSM Sorcerer or DP with Lash and WoC, would it change how you could do things?



The only thing that is up-in-the-air with that situation is that we don't know for sure whether Lash is considered a "psychic shooting attack" or not because GW didn't include that information in the CSM FAQ yet for some reason (even though they did in almost all the other FAQs).

But if you were assuming that the Lash is a psychic shooting attack then the answer would be exactly the same as above.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne






It's moot though since a Chaos Sorcerer or DP with MoS can only take one power.

Veriamp wrote:I have emerged from my lurking to say one thing. When Mat taught the Necrons to feel, he taught me to love.

Whitedragon Paints! http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/613745.page 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration






Hopping on the pain wagon

Yeah, for what it is worth, we played it as suggested above resolving the template and then moving the unit. The closest we could find was under the templates section since it seems to imply that they are handled first (at work don't have exact language).

Thanks!

Kabal of the Razor's Song project log

There is a secret song at the center of the universe and its sound is like razors through flesh. 
   
Made in us
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





whitedragon wrote:It's moot though since a Chaos Sorcerer or DP with MoS can only take one power.



So what do familiars do again? I forgot...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/05 20:40:58


"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."

-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

I hope they don't say Lash is a shooting attack, since that kills alot of it's ability straight away.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: