Switch Theme:

Eldar twin-linked Fire Prism Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The eldar codex states that you can link two fire prisms together to fire a more powerful shot than becomes twin-linked. The fire prism shot is a blast though, so one rolls the scatter dice. If the shot is twin-linked it means one can re-roll a miss but the fire prism is a blast...so what does this mean? Re-roll the scatter dice if one chooses? Thanks.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Check out page 30 of the rulebook, in the "Blast weapons and re-rolls" section.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Oh, duh. Thank you Yak.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




When re-rolling both the scatter dice though, which one does one use?
Also, the eldar codex states that guide allows one to re-roll "their scatter dice". I'm guessing that this means I re-roll not only the scatter dice (2 in fact according to 5th ed.) but the 2d6 as well, as stated in the 5th ed rule book? Thanks.
   
Made in us
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





Reroll both the 2D6 and the Scatter die.

In regard to Guide, dice is plural so when it says to reroll their scatter dice you reroll, as stated above, the 2D6 as well as the Scatter die.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/05 07:40:21


"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."

-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




alright got it, thanks. Been away from WH for too long!
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Cadian16th wrote:Reroll both the 2D6 and the Scatter die.

In regard to Guide, dice is plural so when it says to reroll their scatter dice you reroll, as stated above, the 2D6 as well as the Scatter die.



Actually Games Workshop never uses the term "die" in their rules ever. They always refer to even a single die as a "dice". Just FYI.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





yakface wrote:
Cadian16th wrote:Reroll both the 2D6 and the Scatter die.

In regard to Guide, dice is plural so when it says to reroll their scatter dice you reroll, as stated above, the 2D6 as well as the Scatter die.



Actually Games Workshop never uses the term "die" in their rules ever. They always refer to even a single die as a "dice". Just FYI.




Gotcha, well that's always been the justification for the way I interpret it

"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."

-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: