| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/06 15:30:53
Subject: True Line of Sight and model bases question
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
Seattle, WA
|
It seems that under V5 the model bases are not required to determine True Line of Sight (TLOS).
My question is whether a intervening unit in base contact with each other in a single line would block TLOS to a unit behind them from a firing unit on the other side when TLOS would cross the bases but can still be drawn to the target unit between each model.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/06 15:56:06
Subject: True Line of Sight and model bases question
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
It would, unless more than 50% of the target unit wasn't obscured by the unit in line.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/06 16:00:29
Subject: True Line of Sight and model bases question
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
Yes, LOS drawn through intervening models would confer a cover save.
The 50% thing that Killkrazy mentions is only used for Vehicles/Monstrous Creatures.
|
I play
I will magnetize (now doing LED as well) your models for you, send me a DM!
My gallery images show some of my work
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/06 22:18:03
Subject: True Line of Sight and model bases question
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
inquisitor_bob wrote:It seems that under V5 the model bases are not required to determine True Line of Sight (TLOS).
My question is whether a intervening unit in base contact with each other in a single line would block TLOS to a unit behind them from a firing unit on the other side when TLOS would cross the bases but can still be drawn to the target unit between each model.
You use the term " TLOS" yet you don't seem to comprehend what you're typing.
"True" line of sight means if you can physically see the models, then you see them. So if intervening models are base to base get down and get a model's eye view.
If you can physically see the enemy unit through the intervening unit then you can shoot at it, and since the line of sight is going through an intervening unit, they will get a 4+ cover save.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/06 22:24:54
Subject: True Line of Sight and model bases question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
inquisitor_bob wrote:It seems that under V5 the model bases are not required to determine True Line of Sight (TLOS).
Bases have never been required to draw LOS, except under 4th edition where Area Terrain or a close combat was involved.
My question is whether a intervening unit in base contact with each other in a single line would block TLOS to a unit behind them from a firing unit on the other side when TLOS would cross the bases but can still be drawn to the target unit between each model.
If you can see the target between the intervening models, you have LOS.
A line of models only blocks LOS if they actually block LOS.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/07 07:45:56
Subject: True Line of Sight and model bases question
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
By my reading, the LoS rule on a unit is if you shoot at another unit behind, there is always cover even if the unit is completely unobscured by TLoS. The rule says something about troops constantly moving, etc.
Also, the 50% rule DOES apply to troops. The unit behind an obscuring unit only gets cover if half its members are obscured by what is effectively the magic wall drawn between the outside base edges of the front line unit.
This is not explained directly in the book. I have inferred it from the description of the unit obscuration rule, and the diagram showing Orks behind a ridge.
So I could be wrong.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|