| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/07 01:20:37
Subject: Scouts Without number and outflank
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
can tyranids that choose scuttlers and choose to outflank. that also have without number perform outflank maneuvars when they get wiped out and come on the board a second time?
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/07 01:24:08
Subject: Scouts Without number and outflank
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Without Out Numbers does not put the unit in reserves and the rules for WON state they come on from your table edge (IIRC or something similar -- definitely not the same edge you deployed from or similar).
Therefore outflank cannot be used when the unit is recycled.
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/07 01:26:48
Subject: Scouts Without number and outflank
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
That's what i thought i just wanted to be 100% sure
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/07 02:10:25
Subject: Scouts Without number and outflank
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
winterman wrote:Without Out Numbers does not put the unit in reserves and the rules for WON state they come on from your table edge (IIRC or something similar -- definitely not the same edge you deployed from or similar).
Therefore outflank cannot be used when the unit is recycled.
So I don't see much of this in the rules.
Not the 5E rules, anyway.
Scuttlers gives you scouts. To me, that means not only can you deploy from your board edge (as outlined in the Tyranid book) but you can also come in from a random board edge (as allowed by the Scouts rule).
What do others think?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/07 03:22:53
Subject: Re:Scouts Without number and outflank
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Pg.40 Tyranid Codex - Without Number... Any brood Without Number that is removed form play may be brought back into play at the beginning of the next Tyranid turn. It moves onto the board from the Tyranid player's board edge and has exactly the same profile and armaments as its predecessor. Victory Points are scored as usual for the brood and its replacements as if they were entirely separate broods.
If you read the bold I would say that they should be able to use the scout rules if need be. However the Underlined section states they come on from the Nids board edge. So Its a close one. But I would say that since the Codex technically overrules the BRB unless its a USR then they should have to come in from the board edge.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/07 03:49:13
Subject: Scouts Without number and outflank
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Anchorage
|
Thought that Codex overruled USRs as well, such as Skulltaker rending on a 4+.
Question though as long as we're talking about without number. There's mention in the BSR that you automatically win if you manage to completely wipe out your opponent. Now, does without number mean that the nid player with the minimum number of spinefists that take WoN aren't going to be subject to that, or is it good enough if you manage to remove all the original squads?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/07 03:58:46
Subject: Re:Scouts Without number and outflank
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I do believe that you would have to kill EVERYTHING on the board. Including any new WoN squads that have walked on. As they count as a new squad and give Killpoints every time they come back.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/07 04:12:07
Subject: Scouts Without number and outflank
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The 'Wipeout!' rule in the rulebook is:
"Regardless of the victory conditions, if at the end of any standard mission your enemy has no units left on the table, you win the game!"
So there's your answer regarding without number. It is only at the end of the game and only if the opponent has no models on the table. So you'll have to keep killing the without number units until the end of the game.
As for whether or not WON units with scuttlers can recycle using 'outflank', the answer is NO.
The rules for outflanking say (p 94):
"During deployment, players may declare that units with the 'scout' or 'infiltrate' rules are attempting to outflank the enemy. . .When the outflanking unit arrives from reserve the controlling player rolls a dice. . ."
So only during deployment can a player declare that a unit is arriving via outflank.
The Without Number rule (quoted in a post above) says absolutely nothing about the unit arriving from reserve. It is a special rule that allows the unit to move back on from the Tyranid Player's board edge, full stop.
There is absolutely no justification for trying to apply outflanking onto the 'Without Number' rule.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/07 04:18:26
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/07 04:16:38
Subject: Re:Scouts Without number and outflank
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The part you would be looking for is..
Pg.40 Tyranid Codex - Without Number... Any brood Without Number that is removed form play may be brought back into play at the beginning of the next Tyranid turn. It moves onto the board from the Tyranid player's board edge and has exactly the same profile and armaments as its predecessor. Victory Points are scored as usual for the brood and its replacements as if they were entirely separate broods.
If codex's over rule the BRB then they would move onto the board from the Tyranid player's board edge as it says. Thus taking Scuttlers and WoN would be a point sink unless you REALLY needed them to either Scout or Outflank the first time.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 01:16:52
Subject: Re:Scouts Without number and outflank
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The without numbers special rules clearly state that the new brood moves onto the table from the nid players edge.
The scuttler rule simply allows the unit to outflank the first time it comes into play.
In short, its not worth giving scuttler units without numbers as a rule
|
Stelek wrote:Dude, you cannot FNP MC CC attacks. I don't care how you "read" the rules. I even don't care if you are correct and GW says you can. lol In short GW rulings are void! |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|