| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 21:55:56
Subject: Demonhunter Inquisitor Mystics' "Free Shot" and Vehicles
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
I just noticed the significance of the Inquisitor's 2-mystic retinue while leafing through the DH codex last night, but the wording of the rule (and all the clarifications, FAQs, and errata information I've looked at so far) seemed unclear about nature of the "Free Shot" it provides. The rule states that one model within a specified radius of an inquisitor with two mystics may be designated to take a "free shot" at units arriving by Deep Strike within 4D6 of the inquisitor.
It a vehicle can plainly be designated to take the shot, but how does this interact with the limitations on vehicle movement and shooting? Can a vehicle that moved and fired one weapon on its controlling player's last player turn be designated to fire again in response to a Deep Strike? What about a vehicle that fired an ordnance weapon? How many of a vehicle's weapons can it fire (do the same limitations apply as in a normal shooting phase?). If two inquisitors with such retinues spot the same arriving unit, can they each designate the same vehicle to take one "free shot" (effectively letting it shoot at the same unit twice)?
Here's my guess:
My guess is that any model, vehicle or not, designated to take a "free shot" can probably fire the same weapons it could during its last shooting phase (probably not including psychic powers limited to the shooting phase, since this isn't actually another shooting phase). I'm also going to guess that each inquisitor gives an independent "free shot", so one model can be given X "free shots" against one incoming unit by X different inquisitors (or against X different units by one inquisitor), regardless of the type of weapon used. I'd hope ordnance weapons are treated the same way as others under these circumstances, but I'm not entirely convinced (it seems a little odd for a Demolisher Cannon to suddenly start firing like a machine gun on an Inquisitor's orders).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 22:01:59
Subject: Demonhunter Inquisitor Mystics' "Free Shot" and Vehicles
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
The rules for mystics specify that a firing unit count as stationary. So vehicles can unload with their full weaponry or fire any ordnance weapons they may have.
There is nothing that prevents a deep striking unit within the radius of two inquisitorial retinues with mystics from being shot at twice. So, yes, you may fire your Demolisher cannon twice if you set things up correctly.
It may seem odd, but so it is.
Edit: Keep in mind that with the Morale rules now requiring a test on 25%+ casualties in any single phase, you can make them run away too.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/14 22:24:56
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 22:05:03
Subject: Demonhunter Inquisitor Mystics' "Free Shot" and Vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Agreed. A vehicle is a model, so if they want to land in front of an DH Inquisitor with a Demolisher, that's their problem.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/15 01:11:13
Subject: Demonhunter Inquisitor Mystics' "Free Shot" and Vehicles
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
This gets really silly in Apocalypse, when the "unit within 12" is a baneblade or some other superheavy.
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/15 05:13:47
Subject: Demonhunter Inquisitor Mystics' "Free Shot" and Vehicles
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
South Pasadena
|
Yikes! I guess my reaver titan will have to stay close to the mystics.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/15 19:32:32
Subject: Demonhunter Inquisitor Mystics' "Free Shot" and Vehicles
|
 |
Grumpy Longbeard
New York
|
Centurian99 wrote:This gets really silly in Apocalypse, when the "unit within 12" is a baneblade or some other superheavy.
Pretty much everything gets silly in Apocalypse though
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|