Switch Theme:

5th Ed. Blast vs Scatter vs Cover  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker





In a game this past weekend I fired a bunch of Blasts at an IG gunline. He had several units all stacked together. Several of the Blasts scattered into the surrounding squads. Quote from the book on page 30: "In these cases hits are worked out as normal, and can hit units out of range and sight..."

My opponent took the "worked out as normal" to mean that his units past the first one would get a cover save because if I was shooting "as normal" I would be firing through his first squad. I took it to mean no cover save and to just roll to would "as normal" and go from there.

My arguement is: What if I scattered out of line of sight? Would you ignore those hits because "as normal" I couldn't see the squad so I couldn't shoot them. No, you don't do that, you let the shots go through. So if you let me hit without needing line of sight, then you should let me wound without wanting a cover save.

My opponent is a good guy and we were both trying to sort out the details of the new rules. We both just read the rule a different way. Thanks for the "as normal" GW. I let him have the cover save and it didn't change the outcome of the game.

Anyone found a clear answer in the book that we missed?

There is a place beneath those ancient ruins in the moor…

 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Wildstorm wrote:So if you let me hit without needing line of sight, then you should let me wound without wanting a cover save.

Why? The rules say that the shot can hit units out of line of sight but does it say that they don't get a cover save?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine





Los Angeles

It sounds like you played it correctly.

Shooting a non-barrage blast weapon:
Check LOS
Target the model/place the template
Check range, All good?
Ok, roll scatter.
Lets say it scatters.
Place template at new position
Check LOS to template from the firer.
Does the unit(s) the template hit have cover from the FIRER? If so, they get a cover save.


Shooting a barrage blast weapon:

Exactly the same, except the last 2 steps. Instead...
Check to see if there is cover to the units from the hole in the template. In this case the position of the firer means nothing.

I play

I will magnetize (now doing LED as well) your models for you, send me a DM!

My gallery images show some of my work
 
   
Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker





Ghaz wrote:
Wildstorm wrote:So if you let me hit without needing line of sight, then you should let me wound without wanting a cover save.

Why? The rules say that the shot can hit units out of line of sight but does it say that they don't get a cover save?

The rules don't say anything about a cover save. Do you default to "yes they get one because they do not say no?"

"Note that it is possible...for a scattering shot to land beyond the weapon's range and line of sight, representing the chance of ricochets, the missle blasting through cover and other random chance."

There is a place beneath those ancient ruins in the moor…

 
   
Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker





Lormax wrote:It sounds like you played it correctly.

Shooting a non-barrage blast weapon:
Check LOS
Target the model/place the template
Check range, All good?
Ok, roll scatter.
Lets say it scatters.
Place template at new position
Check LOS to template from the firer.
Does the unit(s) the template hit have cover from the FIRER? If so, they get a cover save.


Shooting a barrage blast weapon:

Exactly the same, except the last 2 steps. Instead...
Check to see if there is cover to the units from the hole in the template. In this case the position of the firer means nothing.

That makes more sense to me. And after reading the Cover rules I see what Ghaz is getting at.

The Cover rules give them a save and the Blast rules to not counter that. Good, we played it correctly. Thanks guys.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/21 00:03:07


There is a place beneath those ancient ruins in the moor…

 
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Hey guys....

long time reader first time poster.

We had a similar scenerio a few days ago. Went over the rule book front to back to try to figue out what to do.

The words "Blasting through cover" and "Ricochets" hitting as "normal" lend to to the interpretation.

Blast Weapons/LOS Ordinance direct hit or hit after scatter.

Shooting through cover and hitting the target behind that same cover (even with scatter) = Cover Save
Shooting at target behind cover and hits target LOS = No Cover Save
Shooting at target LOS and hitting target behind cover = No Cover Save
Shooting at any target with centre of blast landing behind cover hitting units BEHIND THAT cover = Cover Save
Shooting at target behind cover and hitting target behind a different cover = No Cover Save

A direct hit though cover would be affected by that cover and that cover only. But seeing how the projectile "Ricocheted" and or "blasted through cover" the effects of a cover save do not apply to that shot anymore.

Thats what I make of it anyway.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/26 06:13:45


 
   
Made in ca
Charging Wild Rider





Canada

So lets say I shot my vindy at a unit of firewarriors in cover *behind a fence or in a building* I measure from the center of the template and they would get no cover as theres nothing between them and the center?

Never say die! Never surrender!

LunaHound wrote:Woo thats a good looking Pedo

DA:80S++G++M++B+I++Pw40k95#+D+A++/swd100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

jqbliss wrote:Hey guys....

long time reader first time poster.

We had a similar scenerio a few days ago. Went over the rule book front to back to try to figue out what to do.

The words "Blasting through cover" and "Ricochets" hitting as "normal" lend to to the interpretation.

Blast Weapons/LOS Ordinance direct hit or hit after scatter.

Shooting through cover and hitting the target behind that same cover (even with scatter) = Cover Save
Shooting at target behind cover and hits target LOS = No Cover Save
Shooting at target LOS and hitting target behind cover = No Cover Save
Shooting at any target with centre of blast landing behind cover hitting units BEHIND THAT cover = Cover Save
Shooting at target behind cover and hitting target behind a different cover = No Cover Save

A direct hit though cover would be affected by that cover and that cover only. But seeing how the projectile "Ricocheted" and or "blasted through cover" the effects of a cover save do not apply to that shot anymore.

Thats what I make of it anyway.



A) You are posting in a thread that has been dormant for nearly six months.
B) You haven't posted anything except your own opinions that aren't based at all on the actual rules.


For the most part, please do not post in topical threads that are more than 3 months dormant unless you have absolutely vital new information that you feel needs to be interjected into the conversation.


On this particular topic, as was covered in the initial exchange, blast and ordnance weapons do not have any exemption from the normal rules for cover and therefore they follow the same rules as presented in the rulebook.

ONLY barrage weapons have a special rule that dictates that cover is determined from the center point of the blast. All non-barrage blast/ordnance weapons do not follow this rule.


Locking thread now. . .


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: