Switch Theme:

sniper rifles vs vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Now that sniper rifles have the new rending rule, how do we work out shots against vehicles?

is it 2d6, and if we roll a 12 then add d3?
or do we never get to add d3?

or did I miss the passage in the 5ed rule book where they clarify this?

If the first, then pathfinders vs vehicles is kind of sick, ap1 ~ 50% of the time with guide...
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

nrs02004 wrote:is it 2d6, and if we roll a 12 then add d3?

Where is this 2D6 coming from? If it's for the Armor Penetration roll then you only roll a single D6, not 2D6.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

nrs02004 wrote:or did I miss the passage in the 5ed rule book where they clarify this?


Indeed, you did. Snipers now count as Strength 3 weapons against vehicles, with the Rending special rule. Thus, it would be 1d6 + 3, and if you rolled a 6 you would add a d3.

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in us
Dominar






In other words, you have a very slim chance to glance AV12 on any given shot.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

The way it actually works is this:

You are S3.

If you roll a 6 on the armor penetration roll:

You add 6 to your strength value.

By the wording, I am not entirely sure if this counts as your armor pen or if you need to roll extra dice. I believe it counts as your first armor pen dice, but the wording is not exactly crisp.

Then you roll a D3 for actual armor penetration dice.

For a value range of 10-12 [or 9 + D3].


   
Made in se
Preceptor






a ghost town in Sweden

sourclams wrote:In other words, you have a very slim chance to glance AV12 on any given shot.


Unless the sniper is a Vindicare

With the Turbo Penetrator and rending they got a sick tank busting abillity now.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/25 23:23:07



Purge the Unclean! 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

Actually, the Exitus Rifle is never listed as having the Sniper rule. It simply states (and defines thoroughly) what an Exitus sniper rifle does.

"The exitus rifle is treated as a sniper rifle (range 36", hits on 2+, wounds on 4+) with an AP value of 2. In addition.." etc. etc.

It does not particularly say it has the Sniper rule. Am I right or wrong? Willing to hear it out.

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in se
Preceptor






a ghost town in Sweden

Smashotron wrote:Actually, the Exitus Rifle is never listed as having the Sniper rule. It simply states (and defines thoroughly) what an Exitus sniper rifle does.

"The exitus rifle is treated as a sniper rifle (range 36", hits on 2+, wounds on 4+) with an AP value of 2. In addition.." etc. etc.

It does not particularly say it has the Sniper rule. Am I right or wrong? Willing to hear it out.


Had just checked the FAQ from GW and thats why i posted, and it stated :

Q. How does the Vindicare’s turbo-penetrator round work in regards to rending?
A. Because sniper rifles are rending, when rolling for armour penetration, the Vindicare gets to add a D3 to the total for each dice that comes up a six. So, if one of the three dice is a six, the total penetration would be 6+2D6+D3+3 (giving a result between 12 and 22); if two were sixes, the total would be 12+1D6+2D3+3 (18 to 26); if all three dice were sixes, the total would be 18+3D3+3 (24 to 30!). Almost certainly enough…

I believe that the fellas at GW think that if you pay 100+ pts for one model he should be good.

EDIT: missed a line

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/26 00:08:15



Purge the Unclean! 
   
Made in us
Battleship Captain





Perth

fabbes wrote:I believe that the fellas at GW think that if you pay 100+ pts for one model he should be good.

Especially considering that he may only get 5-7 shots per game....

Man, I wish there was a real Black Library where I could get a Black Library Card and take out Black Library Books without having to buy them. Of course, late fees would be your soul. But it would be worth it. - InquisitorMack 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

Bah good catch. I always keep forgetting they FAQed the assassins. Sorry for the confusion.

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in se
Preceptor






a ghost town in Sweden

Smashotron wrote:Bah good catch. I always keep forgetting they FAQed the assassins. Sorry for the confusion.


Heh no worries, actually i was in your position a few hours ago, before the FAQ


Purge the Unclean! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: